The 5 Best Novels By Stephen King

As a constant reader, these are my picks for the cream of the crop

Jay Sizemore
From the Library

--

a section of my bookshelf at home, 2020

I discovered Stephen King in my early teens. Growing up, there were always some of his books on my mother’s shelves, and I remember quite vividly the covers of those books and how they appealed to my young imagination. My mother was one who tried to make sure what I was reading was age-appropriate, and as such, she wouldn’t let me read Stephen King until I turned 12, no matter how often I asked, even though she already let me watch horror movies from like the age of five. That may have still been too young honestly, but once I started reading him, it was off to the races. I was hooked from the first chapter of the first novel, which if I remember correctly was Firestarter.

King’s ability to craft memorable, lifelike characters, and to build a world in the labyrinth of the mind within which a story could crescendo with tension and suspense, was unmatched. The pages breezed past, and I found myself devouring his books one after the other. He quickly became my favorite author, with many of his works leaving lasting marks on my development as a creative young person, and as a human being in general. His stories came alive in my imagination, were so sensory and vivid with detail, they felt like a reality I could crawl into and live. They set my creative…

--

--

Jay Sizemore
From the Library

Provocative truth teller, author of APNEA & Ignore the Dead. Cat dad. Dog dad. Husband. Currently working from Portland, Oregon. Learn more at: Jaysizemore.com.