Why I started The Notebook

Savvas Zortikis
From The Notebook
Published in
3 min readFeb 7, 2017

Every day I learn a ton of things. I read. I take advice from great people. I experiment. I fail. I succeed. And here we go again.

This circular process happens multiple times within a single day. Mainly because I’m running Viral Loops, a venture backed SaaS startup.

The story behind

A few days ago, I was talking with my investors over the phone explaining them a lesson we learned that hard way the last month. They got back to me prompting me to note it down. Not just to share it with other startups, but also not to forget it.

And this is how the idea of The Notebook was born 😊.

Instead of keeping these notes in my real notebook, Google Docs, GeekBot or something else, I decided to start writing directly on Medium.

This publication will act as my personal notebook. It’s pretty self-explanatory why I called it “The Notebook” (actually it was the first thing that came to my mind 😛).

Who it’s for

I’ll share everything I believe it would be useful for:

  • startup founders
  • growth marketers

I won’t write for everybody. I’m not a writer after all. I just write stuff.

What’s in it for you

Every Tuesday, I’ll be sharing the lessons I learn from growing my first venture backed startup. I’ve founded a growth marketing agency 3 years ago, but this journey is so different.

I’am thinking to split them in chapters. The 1st one will be about early stage startups.

Depending on your experience there are two possible outcomes for you:

  • If you don’t know what I’m talking about, I will save you time. Maybe I will save you money, too.
  • If you already know this stuff, it will be a great opportunity to start a discussion and help others.

What’s in it for me

Normally, I should stop and ask you to subscribe to my email list. But, I’ll do so in a minute. 😋

I don’t do this just for you. I do it for me, too 🙈. If I was following the common marketing practice, I shouldn’t write this part. But, who cares? 🤗

By starting this publication I will:

  • be better at writing. I’m not a native English speaker, so I need to really practice. This will help me write faster and more pieces of content in our viral and referral marketing blog.
  • be able to get more guest posts.
  • make more friends and get to know with great people.
  • start building my personal brand.

Get my notes on a monthly basis

Each month I’ll be sending one email wrapping up my favorite and most important lessons learned. It would be great to join my journey!

Get access to my lessons learned 👀

or send it to a friend who is a founder or growth marketer 😋

Truly yours 🙌,
Savvas

If you want to help me start sharing my lessons learned, all I need is some love 🤗 . Just hit 💙 to recommend my posts.

_
Savvas is a product and growth guy. Now, co-founder & CEO of Viral Loops, a viral and referral marketing platform for startups and small businesses. Previously VP Growth at GrowthRocks.

--

--

Savvas Zortikis
From The Notebook

Entrepreneurship, life lessons, startup growth. Co-founder & CEO @ViralLoopsHQ.