The River Speaks

Rivers speak to us with their life-giving water. We need to listen.

Dr. David Martin
1 min readApr 20, 2020

I start small, as a spring,

Or a dripping snowmelt high in the mountains.

I begin my life with hardly a notice,

Far, far from prying eyes.

I begin the long journey,

That will end hundreds, even thousands of miles from where I started.

Sometimes flowing as gently as a cool summer breeze,

Sometimes raging like a sudden storm.

Always down, down, down to the sea.

I smile as I see your delight,

In coming to me to cool off a hot summer day.

I delight to pass through your cities, teeming with life.

And sometimes I cry at the way you abuse me,

with your dams and your chemicals and your waste.

I am your River, going ever to the sea.

I give you joy, I give you my life.

Please, Oh, Please take care of me.

--

--

Dr. David Martin

I write about leadership, tech, education, current affairs and life in general from Seoul, South Korea (poetry, too!). Email me at davidpmartin@mediumauthor.com