GOD-CONVERSATIONS (02)

Olamide Grace Olaniyi
FromTheStoriesWeDoNotTell
4 min readSep 23, 2020

--

“So, you mean I have no say over my life?”

“What do you mean?”

“If this purpose thing is all about what You want, isn’t that manipulation? Where then is the place of what I want?”

“No. You have freewill too. You can choose to live life according to MY terms or yours.”

“But, what will you have me choose?”

“Choose ME.”

“Why You?”

“I made you. I know why I made you. Without ME, you can do nothing. I alone can make you function the way I want you to. What’s a product without the manufacturer?”

“Must everything always be about You? What of me? Why do I have to choose what You want?”

“Who are you? What do you know about yourself? Where were you before you came into the earth? When your parts were yet unformed and I sculpted you out of nothing into something, covering you in your mother’s womb, where were you? Where will you be in the next 100 years? When life on earth is over, where will you be?”

Silence.

“Before you were formed in your mother’s womb, I knew you. I watched your body grow there. I saw who I created you to be before you became you! In my book, I wrote about all the days planned for you before any of them happened. I have your script. You are not just an addition to the world population; I was intentional about you from the beginning. You can either choose to let me lead you or choose to figure things out on your own. But you should know, this life is too complicated to choose to figure out on your own.”

“Bbbb…ut, there are people who do not know You and are living a good life.”

“Define good life.”

“They have money. They are rich. They are famous. They have good jobs. They even have good health. Yet they do not believe in you.”

“Cutlery can do well in being used to produce sounds, but that is not what they were made for. A speaker can be comfy in being used as a chair, but that is not what it was made for. Success in the “externalities” of this world is not what defines a good life. This life is also governed by principles and works for as many who follow them. You do not really have to know ME, to be rich or famous. That’s not the goal of creation. A man’s life does not consist in the abundance of the things he possesses.In the end, what would really define a good life is what that life was spent doing. For what does it benefit a man to gain the whole world [with all its pleasures], and forfeit His soul?”

“Why you?”

“For I know the thoughts that I think towards you, the thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. For I have gone into your future to prepare the way, and in kindness, I follow behind you to spare you from the harm of your past. With my hand of love upon your life, I impart a blessing to you…Come to me. I will refresh your life, for I am your oasis. Simply join your life to Mine. Learn My ways and you’ll discover that I am gentle, humble and easy to please. You will find refreshment and rest in Me. For all that I require of you will be pleasant and easy to bear.

My grace for you is always more than enough and my power finds its full expression through your weakness. I’ve told you all this so that trusting me, you will be unshakable and assured, deeply at peace. In this godless world you will continue to experience difficulties. But take heart! I’ve conquered the world. It’s a journey of trust. You have to trust ME.”

“What’s Your proof?”

“You have My word. For whatsoever things were written aforetime were written for your learning, that you through patience and the comfort of the scriptures might have hope.”

“Where do I start from?”

“For I am the Beginning and the End, start from ME.

Do you have a say over your life now?”

*Smiles*

He has made everything beautiful and appropriate in its time. He has also planted eternity [a sense of divine purpose] in the human heart [a mysterious longing which nothing under the sun can satisfy except God]… (Ecclesiastes 3:11a AMP)

--

--