A Pandemonium of Parrots and Some Pictures

Debora Sebastian
From Up on the Mountain
2 min readNov 24, 2019
According to Google, this is a Rose-ringed Parakeet (Psittacula krameri).

Did you know they have parrots in the Holy Land? A small pandemonium comes by my room most mornings and some evenings. I’ve counted at least six or seven at one time, but they don’t stick around for pictures together.

Guys, I dried my laundry on a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean. I don’t understand my life! Dear Lord, Thank you!
Resquiescant in Pace
A fine white steed and a Crusader wall.

This poor horse was lonely and came over to say “hello,” though I think he said it in Arabic. Behind us is an Arab graveyard (see above); in front of us is the crusader wall around the Akko (Acre if you are a Crusader). Between us and the wall is a ditch. According to my friend (a human not the horse), this ditch was the kill zone because to attack the wall you had to climb down into the ditch and get all kinds of things dropped and shot at you while you tried to attack this 10foot thick wall. It wasn’t a very promising prospect

There was something very fitting contemplating that in the company of a horse.

Also, apparently, Napoleon failed to conquer Akko because someone sabotaged his big cannons so he couldn’t pound through the crusader wall.

This is another section of the kill zone. It’s soccer fields now. Think about that for a whole minute.

That’s all for now, folks! Have a lovely morning, noon, evening or night!

Pax,

Debbie

Prettiest sunset I’ve seen here.

--

--

Debora Sebastian
From Up on the Mountain

I am a young adult who loves to read, write, and think about interesting things. Life is a story, and mine is an adventure. Come adventure with me!