Notes on Passover

Debora Sebastian
From Up on the Mountain
2 min readApr 5, 2020

Dear Friends,

I hope all of you are well and not going cabin crazy.

The wind-kite surfing club was out before quarantine.

Passover is starting this week. The holiday runs from April 8–11 and 14–15. I haven’t tracked down why yet. We got an email from the school saying that if we wanted bread with leaven during Passover week, you needed to stock up because no one will be selling it. Everything that has leaven will be covered up and unavailable, this includes products like crackers. Also, they said you needed to discuss with any Jewish roommates where to store the leavened bread. Neither of my roommates are Jewish, so we went to the bakery and now our freezer is packed with leavened bread.

This is what everyone is going to be like when lockdown is over. Yes, he is well over 12ft above the water.

Lockdown is showing no signs of ending here. I have been mourning the loss of Easter celebrations and mass. … Yes, well, there is not much else to say there. Hurrah for continued penance. Nope — sarcasm is the wrong attitude. Ummm… What is God trying to teach me through this? Don’t know yet. But, this is my altar; and when Elijah had an altar, God burned it with a fantastic display of almighty power and ended a ton of evil. That’s more promising.

And here is a picture of a baby whale skeleton, just for the fun of it.

Dear Friends, I hope God accepts your sacrifice and sorrows, then burns all the evil out of our lives this Holy Week with a fantastic display of His power!

Pax!

DS

--

--

Debora Sebastian
From Up on the Mountain

I am a young adult who loves to read, write, and think about interesting things. Life is a story, and mine is an adventure. Come adventure with me!