“Poets” by Joyce Kilmer

Dear Friends,

I recently posted one of Joyce Kilmer’s most famous poems “Trees.” Shortly thereafter, I came across one of his least famous poems. The poem is called “Poets” and is not the same as his poem “Old Poets.” It is rather difficult both to read and to find online. But it is a worthy poem to read. Here you go:

Vain is the chiming of forgotten bells

That the wind sways above a ruined shrine.

Vainer his voice in whom no longer dwells

Hunger that craves immortal Bread and Wine.

Light songs we breathe that perish with our breath

Out of our lips that have not kissed the rod.

They shall not live who have not tasted death

They only sing who are struck dumb by God.

A shrine my friends and I hiked passed in the Tatra Mountains way back in 2015. (Please note, I edited this photo from my original picture.)

--

--

Debora Sebastian
From Up on the Mountain

I am a young adult who loves to read, write, and think about interesting things. Life is a story, and mine is an adventure. Come adventure with me!