Hackathon, Week 3, & Learning to Think

Chelsea
Front End Developer
1 min readOct 14, 2014

Just finished week three of the front end engineering program at The Iron Yard. 1/4 of the way through. A lot has been crammed into my brain in those three weeks. So far, I’m really surprised at how much I’m actually retaining. It’s difficult, but I really like it.

We’re definitely learning how to think and solve problems, as opposed to just the programming languages themselves. I’m finding it is getting easier to think through problems and figure out where I went wrong.

Last weekend was a hackathon and we worked in teams to build an app in 48 hours, with a Ruby on Rails and iOS developer. This reaffirmed two things: 1. I do notttt want to be a backend developer. Ever ever ever, please don’t make me. And 2. I am starting to get the hang of this whole thing.

--

--