Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

Everything is a monthly subscription

I’m not subscribing to your SaaS

The business model of Sketch and why it’s perfect

Published in
6 min readOct 1, 2019

--

The problem with subscriptions

It seems that everywhere you look new products are vying for your attention and more often than not, they’re subscription services. I don’t always have a problem with subscriptions but sometimes the justification for a subscription seems tenuous at best.

I pay monthly for Apple Music, Netflix, Amazon Prime, Digital Ocean, and Ocado Smart Pass to name a few services. Why do I pay for these? They provide tangible value. In the case of Netflix and Apple Music, I’m paying for the existing catalogue of content and the promise of new releases. It’s also the convenience of having access to the library on the devices I need. I pay for Digital Ocean for hosting because I like their product and it provides hosting services for some websites I own . You get the idea. I don’t mind paying for subscriptions where I get real value on a regular basis. I however, don’t see the point in everything being a subscription.

I’m not going to point fingers, so here are some generic examples I’ve seen recently that shouldn’t be a subscription service.

--

--

Sharing ideas, facts, and opinions about programming. 📚 Learn more React and JavaScript. 🗺 Learn web development tips and tricks 🛸 Discover something new