Cloudy with a Chance of Snow

Why I would never frown upon artists who do Covers

Sara Caitlin
Front Page News Music
2 min readJun 3, 2020

--

Let’s face it, many musicians are purists. In many ways, that’s ok, it’s how you and I who love music get to experience raw love, sensuality and that wild vibe at its finest. However, no discussion irks me more than how some artists insist on only playing their own material and scoff at others who dare do a cover.

I do get it, the notion of covers being some kind of travesty. For instance: I’m a big fan of Red Hot Chili Peppers. HUGE. Suffice to say my top came off (couldn’t say it was accidental) in the August 1999 Californication Tour that hit Paris where I was a Philosophy student on my Summer break. Well then 2 years ago, I WAS gripped by a brief sense of “How dare he?!” when I heard that my beloved band’s “Snow (Hey Oh)” was covered by a young singer-songwriter based in Barcelona.

The temporary purist in me was squelched. The feeling transposed fairly quickly to ‘Oh wow…’

See for yourself. Liam Cloud’s cover of Snow:

Liam Cloud is a singer-songwriter based in Barcelona working on his next album.

Bear in mind, Dear Reader, that Metallica only did covers when they were starting out, but only did covers of obscure Nordic bands which brought fresh blood and angst into them. Adele did a cover of Love Song by The Cure as it makes her feel like she was young again growing up with a song her mother loved, and still does.

Here’s an earlier article I wrote about the beautiful young man Liam Cloud doing a cover of Snow; and a eureka moment with his Producer Jason Boshoff:

Liam Cloud live in Kalayaan Barcelona June 2019

Ultimately, musicians I love and adore: Doing covers in between your own creations can often be a bit of chicken soup for the ears of those who have come to see you.

Your take on an existing song could even be better than the original, stranger things have happened. A cover or two can also be a tribute to genius singer-songwriters who aren’t you…and would demonstrate an authentic glimpse of modesty.

Don’t hate the idea.

And if you needed a bit more juice on the old chestnut of epic songs you may not have known were covers, head over here:

Sara is a project manager for Front Page News and a writer that has been in love with words since the beginning of time. She writes for artists and clients on anything from billboards to cafe napkins.

--

--

Sara Caitlin
Front Page News Music

Attracted to thought leaders, fashion, and everything in between. Addicted to travel, trance, art and the evolutions of the written word.