The Sandoval Family: The Front Steps Project

Bria Woods
Front Steps Project
2 min readApr 23, 2020

Bria Woods

Hiya. I’m Bria, and like you I am living in the day and age of COVID-19. How did we get here? It seems like one day we just looked up and found ourselves couped up in the house in quarantine, unemployed, bored, homeschooling, and lonely while the world comes to its knees outside.

and yet

In the midst of all this uncertainty, we are seeing communities show up for each other while still honoring social distancing. On March 29, one of my colleagues shared the Front Steps Project with me.

Carla Soulia, a photographer from Needham, MA, began taking portraits of her community standing 10 feet away, showing how communities are still coming together. This project seeks to document our new reality.

This is living history.

I decided to try my hand at the Front Steps Project and tell the story of my community. Let’s go for a drive…

The Sandoval Family. Victoria, Texas.

The Sandoval Family.

Jodi and Joey both work full time while homeschooling their twins, Journie and Jordan.

Check back for the next family.

Follow me on Instagram @BriaWoodsPhotography to see more.

--

--

Bria Woods
Front Steps Project

Executive Producer-Digital, KAVU-TV. Radio host, KRTU 91.7 FM. Portrait PhotograpHER. Vegetarian. Honorary Latina. Jeremiah 29:11.