What is Frontier Space, and what do I hope to achieve through its existence?

Ryan Dey
Frontier Space
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2018
Photo via SpaceX

I created this blog, Frontier Space, in order to share my love of space and the technologies that allow us to reach it. The specific area that I am interested in for the subject is related to the private companies bringing back the legendary space race. Based on the overall theme of this publication, I’m sure you’ve already guessed that I’m a massive fan of SpaceX, and everything they’ve contributed to the space exploration community. Personally, I’ve tried my hardest to view every single SpaceX launch live, but have watched each of them at least once after the fact.

Although only once so far, I’ve actually gone to see an actual launch, which was the SES-12 mission on June 4, 2018. It was really difficult for me, as the launch was not only two hours away, but it was at 12:45 a.m. as well. When I first saw the magnificent glow of the booster’s first stage igniting, though, I was wide awake to witness the pure spectacularity brought about by the launch of a rocket. Even though I find the live streams to be enough, there is nothing more incredible than viewing the launch in real life, through your own eyes and ears. First, the bright glow of the nine Merlin engines igniting, then the spectacular streak of light released as they lift the massive rocket into the sky. Only then do you begin to hear the roar of the engines pop into existence, and grow louder as the sound catches up to our ears. After about a minute or two of hearing the booming engines, it fades into silence once more, as the light from the booster fades away into the atmosphere.

Anyways, I digress. I started this blog in order to share my feelings and opinions on a variety of topics within the space community. Just a few of the topics I would like to discuss in this blog include: the launch of various space vehicles, current and future plans of private space corporations, as well as my opinions on what the leaders of these corporations say and do.

In final remarks, it’s my goal to share as much as I can, provided it relates to space, of course. I’m excited to begin this journey, and hope that it proves to be an interesting Endeavor, in the least. Thank you for taking the time to read this introductory post on what I’d like to do with this publication, and I hope you have a good rest of your day/night!

— Ryan Dey

--

--

Ryan Dey
Frontier Space
0 Followers
Editor for

Passionate about all things space. Freelance graphic designer.