Get to know our team: Lea Simpson

Ben Walker
Frontier Tech Hub
Published in
2 min readApr 13, 2017

Role on Frontier Technology Livestreaming

Team leader

Organisation

Independent

Tell us a bit about your role on the programme

I have the great privilege of leading Frontier Technology Livestreaming. Projects that become part of our work get money to pilot their ideas, our support to find technology partners and collaborators and support to work in agile ways. My role is leading across those three things, so I work with the team to select projects to support and matchmake DFID Advisors with innovators and technologists. It’s also my job to bring innovation method to the programme, designing the processes, tools and artefacts to make things happen.

What frontier tech do you believe is going to have the biggest impact on international development?

Such a difficult question — like picking a favourite child! If I absolutely have to choose, it would have to be internet delivery. By creating access to information and enabling connection to one another it makes anything possible.

What might someone be surprised to know about you?

This is my first project in the development sector. My career so far has been focussed on innovation, strategy and digital transformation in the private sector.

Follow Lea on Twitter as well as read her posts hear on Medium

We will be highlighting the members of our team here on Frontier Technology Livestreaming so please check back over the next few months to meet the whole crew!

--

--

Ben Walker
Frontier Tech Hub

Digital communications for global development. Tell me if you think I am getting better on the drums.