Muna Rilwan found the freedom to be herself through art and design

TStreet Media
FrontRow Magazine
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2018

Muna Rilwan is an interior designer that hails from the Maldives. She did her studies in interior design and graduated from AOD in Sri Lanka before starting to specialize in the creative sphere. For Muna, art is more than just an experience, it is liberating.

Working in the field of 3D visuals and graphics

Although Muna is an interior designer, she is keen on creating 3D visuals and graphical images of them. Full of ideas and imagination, she says, “I have been working as a freelance 3D Visualiser for quite some time now, and have been doing some graphics and branding too. I am currently working on an interior design project for a guest house on an island in the Maldives.”

Interior design is her profession but photography is her passion

While Muna claims that interior design is her voice, she also admits to being a passionate photographer as well. “I even worked in a photography studio after my O’levels. It was an amazing experience for me because not only did I learn photography there, but also how to deal with different clients and to use new software which later helped in my Degree. Photography has always been my art of keeping memories.”

For Muna, being in the creative industry is what she has been seeking till now in her life. Whether as an interior designer, 3D visualiser or photographer, she loves her work and professes, “I have always had a passion to do creative ventures ever since I was young; from experimenting with colours to making models to help my friends do creative work and this lead me to further learn more about designing.”

Undertaking challenging projects

Of all her artworks, Muna’s favourite project remains the one she completed for Lonali, a Sri Lankan brand which revolved around the theme of up-cycling, giving her the opportunity of experimenting with new designs and skills. She further describes her experience, “I used earthy colours and sustainable materials for the interior. I got to meet Lonali, the founder of the brand, in person and she inspired me a lot. A couple of the interesting parts of this project were where I learned how to draw proper perspective drawings and hand renders, and it was great fun making the 1:1 model where I actually got to make a part of the main entrance wall. The outcome of this project was quite good and resulted in a really good review.”

Being a designer means that you constantly have to change and remain updated with the latest art techniques and invention. Muna loves coming up with new ideas, invent new interesting and exciting artworks from what inspires her. “One of the best things about being a designer is we get to live in a community where it’s always evolving. Every day, we invent new things, we get to learn new things and share it with others and do something different. Everybody finds what we do interesting and exciting. It is just a new experience every day, meeting new people visiting new places. I am truly grateful to be in a society where designers are recognized and accepted. I hope to start my own business in the future.”

h/t: The Sunday Leader
Also available on Zyne.ca

--

--

TStreet Media
FrontRow Magazine

TStreet Media is the publishing arm of Toast Studio (@gotoast), a content agency located in lovely Montreal, Canada.