Q&A :: Drew Yorke

TStreet Media
FrontRow Magazine
Published in
3 min readMar 29, 2017

Now a contributor to the Sidewalk Hustle magazine, Drew York began his photography career by taking his camera to take pictures of shows he attended. Drew’s great passion for music can be felt on the superb photo of the artist.

Name: Drew Yorke

Age: 21

Occupation: Contributing Editor/ Photographer/ Sidewalk Hustle

Instagram: @drewyorke

Describe your art in a tweet:
“I capture sound in two dimensions.”

What is your definition of the word “art”?

Part of me wants to say that art is expression in the purest form. But sometimes art just happens, and that’s not expression at all. Art just exists.

For how long have you been an artist?

I think that humans are born artists. But my parents were both musicians so I became a musician at a young age. I was always surrounded by cameras but it wasn’t until high school that I really explored the art. In university, I was able to experiment with photography and combine it with music.

What are the pros and cons of going into your practice in an entrepreneurial way?

Working as a freelance music photographer is a slow grind. It looks really glamorous — and don’t get me wrong, the highs are very high — but the lows are very low. However, there’s nothing better than getting credit for an amazing shot (and being paid for it).

What inspires you daily?

Music is my biggest daily inspiration. The music is what gets me out of bed and onto the bus towards the show. I was a fan of rap music before I ever photographed rap music and I still feel like a fan first.

What is your greatest challenge?

Any photographer’s greatest challenge is getting credit for the work they’ve created. Many artists that I photograph have had their photo taken a thousand times and they can’t always think of the photographer when sharing the photos

How do you keep overcoming that challenge?

I try to make a point of connecting with artists when I photograph them but I’ve learned that networking is an effective way of setting up those relationships before the photographs are taken.

What is the most exciting part of your creative process?

Capturing an artist in the heat of their performance is definitely the most exciting part. For that short period of time, I get to be a part of a certain energy and have the opportunity to capture it.

What recently came true into your life that you would never have thought possible?

I’ve had the chance to meet some major label artists like Chance the Rapper and Mac Miller. Experiences like those are unforgettable. I also recently photographed Mariah Carey and that was indescribable. I can’t describe it.

Which art current or trend are you currently excited about?

Phones that take better photos than my camera. I’m excited to see someone shoot a full festival with their phone.

What would you like to see more of in the art world/industry?

Humour and risk taking. No one ever posts the photos that look bad. Sometimes those photos are the best.

Which artist would you want the world to discover?

Fucci, he’s a visual artist from the city. He’s got the coolest and most creative ideas. Also, Christian Fortino. One of the most underrated photographers coming up in my industry.

What can we wish you?

Luck! I’m always crossing my fingers to get into the next show. It’s never guaranteed! Here are a bunch of links to articles/media about me in the past year or so. Feel free to include any of them.

Drew Yorke social media links:

www.drewyorke.com/
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

--

--

TStreet Media
FrontRow Magazine

TStreet Media is the publishing arm of Toast Studio (@gotoast), a content agency located in lovely Montreal, Canada.