Problematizing Inequality at CIES 2017

FSI Student Programs
FSI Research Grants
3 min readApr 12, 2017
Larkin (second to the left) and her other panel speakers at the CIES Conference.

On the first of my four days at the Comparative International Education Society Conference in Atlanta, I felt as though I were walking down a hall of fame. Craning my neck to better read nametags in the crowd, I recognized familiar authors from course syllabi and my own reference lists. They’d jumped off the page to join me here, fully animated as they shuffled alongside me through the check-in line.That initial star-struck sensation wore down (although never completely off), as I continued to explore the conference, abuzz with book talks, panels, workshops, poster sessions and receptions. I attended special sessions on the role of the state in education and public-private partnerships, where I bumped elbows and exchanged business cards with fellow students and researchers in my field. As a researcher, the conference presented me with the opportunity to attend paper sessions, roundtables and panel discussions on current studies in my field. I am excited to have advanced my content knowledge on topics related to this years’ theme, “Problematizing (In)Equality.” I was able to both refine my understanding of the field and orient my own research, “A Comparative Survey of Bay Area Charter Schools,” within this larger context.

On Tuesday night, our alumni reception was an especially great affair. Having worked on the organizing committee, I was excited to officially welcome professors, researchers, PhD candidates, and MA students to the conference! It was a great opportunity to let loose and foster community across many years of our program. We shared laughter, research ideas, personal stories and professional advice. This and other conference receptions were great opportunities to network with major academics and professionals in my field. As a candidate for graduation this summer, I welcomed tips and leads for my evolving job search. I expect that some of the connections I made at the CIES conference will help me to develop my own place among comparative education researchers.

Another highlight of the conference was the opportunity for MA candidates to present their research proposals. I enjoyed sitting in on my peers’ presentations and listening as they opened the floor for wide-ranging questions and ideas. Having never presented academic research in such a public setting, I was both nervous and excited when it came to be my turn. Much to my relief, I found that the environment was one of constructive criticism and returned to Stanford with actionable feedback for my research proposal.

As a panelist, I gained invaluable experience presenting and discussing original research. Serving as panel chair, I was able to both respond to questions on my own research and pose questions across related research by my peers. I fielded questions sparked new insights into my developing master’s thesis. This opportunity for feedback on the panel allowed me to practice sharing and discussing my work in a professional setting. I am already eagerly looking forward to next year’s conference in Mexico City!

Written by Larkin Willis, M.A. candidate in International Education Policy Analysis at Stanford University. She received an FSI conference grant in winter 2017.

--

--

FSI Student Programs
FSI Research Grants

The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies at Stanford offers engaging, policy-focused Stanford student opportunities.