A Year in Slovakia: Ako som sa zmenila.

Hannah Gundelfinger
FSU Gap Year Fellows
2 min readDec 27, 2018

“Think back to your high school graduation. Has your view of yourself changed since then? Has your worldview changed? How so?”

Sometimes I don’t even recognize myself anymore. Since graduating from high school seven months ago, I have changed mentally in every way possible. On the outside I look the same, but on the inside I am unrecognizable.

I used to be an introvert. I wasn’t necessarily shy, rather I wouldn’t reach out to others unless they reached out to me. I thrived alone. Now I am the polar opposite as I quickly realized my old ways would not help me thrive abroad. Instead I needed to be the one taking initiative. Now I am the first one to smile or say hello, reaching out to new people each day. I remember being so afraid of this, tending to wait for the other person, avoiding initiative and fearing being rejected — now I realize just how ridiculous that was. I have turned into an extrovert, spending as much of my time as possible surrounded by people.

I call and talk to my real family usually once a month here and this month that call took place on Christmas in the USA (Christmas is on the 24th here and the 25th in the USA). My entire family was there — grandma, aunts, uncles, and cousins included. Towards the end of our call, they remarked that I really had changed a lot. When I asked how so, they didn’t have an answer. They instead said it just seemed like everything about me had changed, and while they loved me before, it was as if now I had achieved to be the person I was meant to. We are all excited to see how I continue change by the time I come home.

Beyond that, my outlook on everything around me has changed as well. While I was openminded before, now I see everything as possibilities and opportunities. I have learned to embrace the world around me, rather than shy away from it. But all the while keeping a reasonable mindset.

Living in a different country and culture this year, I have had the chance to see and understand so many different mindsets and approaches to life. It has opened my eyes to issues I had no idea about previously but also has given me solutions to problems elsewhere.

I am thrilled to see how I continue to grow and change.

--

--