A Year in Slovakia: Môj život na Slovensku

Hannah Gundelfinger
FSU Gap Year Fellows
4 min readNov 6, 2018

You want to know what the craziest thing about living in a completely foreign country is? Just how normal it becomes. I don’t feel any distance between the United States and my home here. Even though just leaving my room means hearing a language different than my native tongue, adjusting to this life has not been as hard as I had previously assumed. Each day I wake up with no idea what may happen but this has caused me to really live. No longer am I thinking and worrying about life, but am instead living second by second.

This sounds terrible, but I only really struggle when I have too much time to think — when there is nothing to do but go to my room and sit. School here is increasingly getting harder for my classmates, causing them to have less and less free time whereas mine is abundant. Luckily, I have been able to find various outlets and activities that I adore. Four days a week I attend school here, called Gynámzium, where the majority of my classes are in Slovak. Each day I have at least one conversational class in English to help students with their speaking skills. These classes are also a great opportunity for me to share information that goes beyond just stereotypes about America. It also gives them an opportunity to teach me about their country. So far I have learned two traditional dances, how to make Bryndzové halušky (a traditional meal), and have played games to help my understanding of their language. On Fridays, I go to the local village primary school with my ten year old host-sister. Here, I help with English classes for kids ages six to ten. I usually stay for four lessons, including at least one Slovak language class. I attend this class solely to help with my progression in learning this language. Because it’s a class meant for children, the grammar and pronunciation is broken down to a much easier level for me to understand. Right now I can speak with the same proficiency as a two year old so really these classes are perfect.

I really enjoy teaching, so after school on Thursdays I take a bus to the town next door to also help with English at a school that is specialized in teaching real life skills to those with mental and physical disabilities. I arrive during their free time so I tend to do crafts, play music, or just talk with them for about an hour until study hall where I help with schoolwork related to English. Their English and my Slovak are very rudimentary therefore there is a strong language barrier that makes proper communication difficult; but another thing I have learned while living here is that understanding is always possible. These students are so understanding and patient, and I always look forward to spending my Thursdays with them.

A new program recently started at various hospitals in Slovakia where volunteers are able to spend time with patients and help them pass their time. I have always been interested in hospital work but in the United States it takes so many levels of approval that it was never possible so when I heard about this program, I was ecstatic. I have gone twice so far and helped with the older, long-term patients. I aim to continue to go at least once a week and alternate between these patients and the children. The language barrier continues to haunt me but usually I can get by. I had one of the best conversations of my life with one patients (completely in Slovak!!) who reminded just how important it is to continue to live, no matter what struggles we face, rather than just survive.

While none of these things remind me of my life in the states, they have become part of my life here. They are what create my routine and make me feel normal. I am so happy to have found such great programs and hope to continue in these directions.

I also have been offered to participate in so many different activities here that I never would have had the opportunity to do previously. Since being here, I have hiked my first summit, ran in a marathon, met over 50 students from ten different countries, and traveled by train. I am thankful for Rotary Youth Exchange and FSU Gap Year Fellows for helping making all this possible.

With Rotary Youth Exchange Students in Košice to participate in the peace marathon

--

--