Blog #10

Jetta Zakaria
FSU Gap Year Fellows
3 min readJul 6, 2020
The Hotel de Ville at the Grand Place

I’m not so sure if this counts as an “artistic work”, but a specific piece of architecture that really resonated with me during my gap year was the Hotel de Ville, or Town Hall, at the Grand Place in Brussels. Whenever I think back to my gap year, the first image I have in my head is this building. It was the first landmark that I visited while in Belgium.

I went to Brussels more times than I can count during my gap year. Everytime I went, I would go to the Grand Place to see the Hotel de Ville. It never got old no matter how many times you see it. It is by far the most beautiful buildings that I have ever seen in my entire life. When in the Grand Place and surrounded by the Hotel de Ville and the other buildings, and standing on the cobblestone, it feels entirely different from anything I have ever experienced at home. It really reinforces the fact that you are in another country since there is not any architecture like that in the US. Whenever I think about Belgium I first think of this sight, and when I think about showing my family or friends around Belgium, I first think of going there. When I first arrived in Belgium, I was lucky enough to see it without any construction being done to it but shortly after, they started making repairs to it. Nevertheless, it took my breath away every time I saw it.

The Christmas Tree at the Grand Place

I have so many memories tied to the Grand Place and the Hotel de Ville. Some days when I did not have anything to do, my friends and I would go to Brussels, buy some snacks and drinks, and just sit in the middle of the Grand Place and spend our day there. During the winter holidays, the area around the Grand Place was turned into a Christmas market and a big Christmas tree was placed in the middle of the Grand Place. I went to the Grand Place late during New Years Eve with my friends and also got to see the Christmas light show one night with my host family. The memories I have from the winter holidays at the Grand Place are extremely important as this time is said to normally be difficult for exchange students since we have to spend the holidays away from our families. When I think back to the winter time, I don’t have any regrets or sad memories, just happy ones with my friends.

I have so many fond memories with the people that I love from my gap year at the Grand Place and Hotel de Ville. Some of my best moments were spent there and it will always have a very special place in my heart.

--

--