Ishan Sood
FSU Gap Year Fellows
3 min readDec 4, 2018

--

Blog #5 — Surprised and Enlightened

While preparing myself for my three month stay in Ghana, I was constantly dealing with apprehension pertaining to me leaving home and traveling to a distant country alone. I would be interacting and engaging with folks who partook in different traditions and cultural practices than what I was accustomed to. I was anxious of how I would be received by the people residing in the local communities, and was slightly worried of experiencing culture shock and feeling like an outcast. In addition to these concerns, American media always depicted countries in Africa as nations suffering from severe poverty, disease, and limitations of food. Almost every time I read about any African nation in a school textbook, or heard a discussion about any African country from a news station on tv, I would find the words poverty, destitution, needy, starving, deficiency, or hardship used in association.

Upon my arrival to Ghana, my concerns were almost immediately alleviated. I was welcomed by a host family consisting of a very kind woman named Cynthia, her husband, and her three adorable daughters. Cynthia made it clear that I should never hesitate to ask for something and made we feel right at home. The three girls were very playful and treated me as an older brother. Within a week, I felt like a part of the family, and and grown completely comfortable in their household. Cynthia and the girls taught me many of the traditional practices in Ghana, introduced me to many Ghanaian dishes , and even taught me a little bit of the local language, Twi. Outside of the household, the people in the community were also very welcoming and friendly. The staff in the two hospitals I volunteered at were very happy to have me working with them and taught me a lot while also sharing lots of laughs. While walking down the street, I always get greeted by people on the roadside and young children going to or from school, who get quite excited seeing a foreigner. I was extremely relieved and happy to adapt so easily.

I also quickly learned how far off the mark the American media is when depicting Ghana. Along with many of the other countries in Africa, Ghana is a very beautiful and peaceful place. Many journalists, news reporters, and other members of the press always tends to focus on the negative aspects of these countries, and while problems exist, they do not come close to the extent that the media claims. I seldom recall ever hearing the positive aspects of these nations and their beauty both geographically and culturally, as this is typically omitted by the media. Unfortunately, this has distorted the perception of Africa among many people living in the western world. Many do not take into consideration that Africa is a continent, with many different countries and many wildly varying cultures. Are their problems and conflicts among some of these countries? Yes, but this is also the case with any other country from any other continent from any other part of the world. Ghana truly is an amazing and peaceful place, with wonderful people. Through my stay in Accra, I’ve had many eye opening experiences and have created many memories which I’ll forever cherish. My stay here has broadened my perspective on the globe, just as I hoped it would when deciding to travel. I feel truly enlightened.

--

--

Ishan Sood
FSU Gap Year Fellows

From South Florida; Marjory Stoneman Douglas High Alumni; Florida State University Student