Blog #8 — Overcoming Angst

Ishan Sood
FSU Gap Year Fellows
3 min readMar 12, 2019

When the thought of traveling abroad alone first dawned on me, I was quite terrified. I had never before left the United States unaccompanied, let alone to a place which I had never before been to, staying with a family who I had never before seen personally, and for the span of three months. When others would ask me if I felt any anxiety or apprehension, I would simply say no, when in reality I was trembling with angst. To put that anxiety to the side and travel to unfamiliar settings took quite a bit of bravery, in my eyes. Overtime, I’ve become completely comfortable jumping into an airplane and exploring whichever region I disembark at. I was welcomed by friendly faces during my stay in Ghana, and have been greeted the same way in the city at which I’m currently staying, Dharamshala, India. This warmth and hospitality has certainly played a crucial role in alleviating my nerves.

While staying in Ghana, I stayed with a very kind host family who went out of their way to accommodate for me. The family had two young adorable girls who were very playful and energetic, and practically became little sisters to me during my stay. When the time came for me to pack my bags and set off back home, they were extremely sad to see me leave, as was I. I also grew close with the staff at the clinics at which I volunteered, and learned a lot from all of them while also becoming close friends. I was additionally treated very warmly by the coordinators of the NGO in Ghana I worked with, World Partners For Development. They would arrange for me to travel and go on fun excursions around all the different regions of the country, and helped me adjust to the culture and local traditions.

When returning back home to Florida, I was quite sad to leave behind all the friends I had made in Ghana. It was surprisingly difficult to readjust to life back in the U.S., and even after doing so, I found myself feeling quite bored most of the time. I had just spent three months in a completely different country, away from my friends and family. It almost felt as if I had left behind a completely different life. What forced me to regain focus, however, was preparation for my next journey….Dharamshala, India.

In Dharamshala, similarly to my time in Ghana, I’ve been part of a home stay program, and have been living with a host family who have been as warm and kind as my previous host family. This family also has a young girl who is a bit more shy than the two girls from my previous family, but adorable and friendly nonetheless. During my stay, I’ve been teaching English to adults who come from many different countries: India, Tibet, Nepal, Bhutan, and Japan just to name a few. As a teacher, I’m looked at with great respect by all of the students, something which I am not at all accustomed to, given that I myself am only a University student who graduated from high school not even a year ago. It has been quite an experience. Everyday, when I walk into the classroom, I’m greeted by students who are very eager to learn and do not for a second take the opportunity for granted. I’m still adjusting to my new position, and hope to make this trip just as memorable and enjoyable as my last.

--

--

Ishan Sood
FSU Gap Year Fellows

From South Florida; Marjory Stoneman Douglas High Alumni; Florida State University Student