Gap Year Blog #12 — Reflections

My gap year was conducive to becoming a balanced, life-long student.

Fatima Verona
FSU Gap Year Fellows
4 min readAug 12, 2020

--

Paraíso, Cartago

One night in Costa Rica, while reflecting on the fun experiences I had in Limón through the phone with my mother, I jokingly said that if my time in Limón became a YA novel, it would be titled “Dancing with the Germans Before the End of Time.” My mother and I laughed uncontrollably at this suggestion. Still, I knew that my experience abroad was so much more than the scant instances when I partied with my new volunteer friends on select weekends. From the moments that I was caring for Harvey, the howler monkey in Limón, to when I was working the organic vegetable garden at 1,200m of altitude in Paraiso, I made an abundance of indispensable memories. I will cherish the experiences and lessons I learned about our interactions with the environment deeply.

At the produce garden in Finca La Flor, Paraíso collecting greens for a delicious and organic salad.

Living in two different microclimates so close to nature was a unique experience in the past months. It made me more conscious of how much we have to protect these ecosystems, and the small actions we can take to do so. There are so many ways we can live more harmoniously with the Earth. For one, when we begin applying more organic practices into agriculture, we see a positive impact not only on the quality of the terrain and its harvest but also on our bodies. My time in Cartago has been conducive to learning more about this and how we can also grow produce ourselves according to the season, and it’s nativity to the area, even if it’s just in our backyards or porches.

Furthermore, we can all acknowledge how significant, especially in times like these, it is to eat and consume locally produced goods. My time in Limón province has been an excellent example of this. This promotes a healthy local economy, but it also reduces emissions generated from the transport of non-local goods. Not only do locally sourced ingredients benefit a community, but they’re honestly more delicious, and helps cultivate diverse gastronomy.

In Limón, a bulk of the wildlife received at the JRC are animals electrocuted by improperly covered power-lines, which is ultimately caused by human development and the intrusion of habitats. The JRC is gradually raising money to cover all the power lines in Costa Rica through a project called Shock Free Zone. This is a goal that is still very far away, however, and only serves as a temporary solution assuming that conservation efforts and government involvement in the protection of wildlife and the education of its citizens in Costa Rica will remain the same. We have an urgent situation here in Miami as well, which is urbanization and urban sprawl. Both are detrimental to the vast and crucial ecosystems of the Everglades, wetlands which provide one-third of the water supply for Floridians and improve water quality by filtering out pollutants and absorbing excess nutrients, replenishing aquifers, and reducing flooding. As Floridians, we should actively raise our voice by voting for representatives that will conserve these essential resources and advocate for sustainable development to reduce urban sprawl and pollution of air and water due to agriculture, industries, and individuals.

Here is the link to donate to JRC’s mission to cover all powerlines: https://www.jaguarrescue.foundation/en-us/SupportUs/ShockFreeZone

Little Harvey ♥

In my gap year, I also did a lot of soul-searching.

What is my purpose?

What are my beliefs?

What will be “mi granito de arena” in this vast ocean?

What problems grind my gears, and what solutions can I offer?

Approaching Isla Estrella, Panamá

I learned that I am passionate about sustainable development, conservation, and integrating ecological methods and products into daily life. I’m also excited about serving my community through medicine, specifically, nutrition and endocrinology. Since I was in middle school, I fostered a curiosity for looking for ways to improve my and eventually other’s lifestyle. Therefore, when I attend FSU, I intend to continue searching for the right career in the health field through its esteemed IMS program. I will cultivate my love for the environment as well and implement it in my time at FSU through engagement in local volunteering, advocacy, and school organizations like the Environmental Service Program and Eco-Reps. As the health of Earth’s ecosystem is the foundation of all health, it is my responsibility and pleasure to advocate for how these two fields go hand-in-hand.

--

--