Gap Year Blog #3

Jackson Sides
FSU Gap Year Fellows
2 min readOct 15, 2018

On August 29th, I arrived in Washington DC and began my life here. When I got here, the house I was planning to stay turned out to be less than ideal, so I was left without a place for a second. Then, I found an awesome house to stay in on Capitol Hill. One of the best things about the place I live is my proximity to the Capitol because I will be working there as an intern for two or three days a week. Also, it’s right across the FSU alumni get together spot, so I can watch games and connect with Florida State alumni, students, and fans.

Right now, I’m still ironing out what my day-to-day life will be like. Also, I will be working with the Egyptian Embassy for the next three months. One of the reasons it’s been difficult to start my internships is that Congress is just getting back in session. For the last month, DC has been very relaxed, but now everyone is back and gear ready to go. The downside of this is no one has time to train an intern. By this time next week, I will know more about what exactly I will be doing at both places. I have a decent idea of what I will be doing as an intern for Congress. I will be handling everyday office tasks like a normal intern, but I will also be leading people on tours of the Congress building, setting up events and meetings, and of course, making coffee. As for my internship at the embassy, I’m not sure yet. I’ll update this when I learn more. This is just the beginning of an exciting year, and I can’t wait to see what else I will be doing!

--

--