Gap Year Blog #7

Jackson Sides
FSU Gap Year Fellows
2 min readFeb 4, 2019

I have been making solid progress towards my goals, but I still have a lot more to learn. For one, I have grown in independence more than I thought I would. In DC, I spent a lot of time living alone, which helped me progress towards that goal greatly. Since I wasn’t really with a group of people, I didn’t have the luxury of relying on others all the time. If I wanted something, I had to go get it. You don’t realize all the great things about living at home, where you have food in the fridge, you don’t have to buy paper towels, and your clothes are sometimes washed for you. So, that goal has definitely been accomplished. Also, I have befriended a ton of bright, driven individuals in the last few months, who I consider to be good friends now. I know I’m going to continue meeting amazing people on the rest of my gap year, too, which excites me. My last goal, which was to “think and find my purpose” has a little different purpose. Before my gap year, I always heard that people had more direction in life after their gap year, but I think I took this in the wrong way. I was thinking I would know what I want to major in, what job I want to have, and have an actual path paved out for me. Now, I realize that the things you learn about yourself are more personal than that. I think I’ve found more about who I am as a person on this Earth and what I believe and why I do what I do, more than all the other stuff. It’s not about learning what your future career might be. It’s learning about the kind of person you want to be. Moving forward, I think I should keep trying to progress towards my goals. I’m going to spend more time thinking about my third goal of learning about myself because that is always an ongoing process. Overall, I think I’ve made good progress, and I can’t wait to see what else I’ll learn!

--

--