Gap Year Blog #8 — Be Water, My Friend

Fatima Verona
FSU Gap Year Fellows
4 min readJul 13, 2020

Flexible.

Bruce Lee once said, “Be water, my friend.” I was young when I first heard this phrase, and though it was my dad that had shared this quote with me, I can’t help but think how often this thought has resurfaced like a buoy in my mind in these trying times. Now, the beauty of water lies in its flexibility and strength; water can take the shape of anything it’s placed in, and if disturbed by some hydrophilic molecules, water’s polarity will dissolve it. Meanwhile, water in a river is continually flowing. In this post, I will share how I had to adapt to certain situations and surroundings and how I overcame different obstacles.

When I first arrived at Puerto Viejo, one primary concern of mine was transportation around the town. Taxi’s, though convenient, can be pricey, and some tuk-tuks have a questionable lack of safety features (though, I did use the service of one particularly trusted tuk-tuk driver once a week on Sundays). Walking was also an option if I wanted to spend at least an hour getting to the center of town (nope). The only logical and economical solution to my situation was borrowing my host’s bike. Bike riding doesn’t sound like much of an issue to an average person, but I can’t remember the last time I had ridden a bicycle — I know, kind of sad — and thus had to relearn the skill.

Bruised and scraped, I was wobbly making my way to the manifestation of that cyclist quote, “Your bike is discovery, your bike is freedom.” I have to say, though, it took me a bit over a week to fully dominate control of my bike plus at least two more weeks to loosen my anxiety of going wherever I wanted. What I did to combat this was always to take a trusted friend or group of friends, and coordinate times when we could all go to buy groceries or enjoy the beach together. The initial bumps on the road were worth going through, as cycling quickly became my favorite form of transportation. Many fond memories were made simply by hopping on a bike downtown to our favorite vegan restaurants, Jamaican patty stands, or our favorite chocolate and coffee shop, Caribeans. The ability to visit the most glorious beaches of Puerto Viejo, such as Cocles and Punta Uva, with only a fifteen to twenty-five-minute ride was an enormous plus.

However, this wasn’t the only bump on the road I encountered. When news of the coronavirus becoming a global threat spread like wildfire, I was stunned and upset, as everyone was. Furthermore, when it tragically posed an even graver menace to Italy and the surrounding Schengen countries, I knew my plans to go to Portugal were canceled. A few weeks after the news, my flight to Miami for April was also canceled. As I write this, my pending trip has been canceled four times (and understandably so). I will head back home on July 15, on a repatriation flight through Spirit. Although I have been lucky to have an endless amount of support here in Costa Rica thanks to extended family members, I miss my parents so much. Moreover, I am enthusiastic to begin learning new subject matter that will challenge me and promote my growth as a well-rounded individual, starting at FSU.

These change of plans did not deter me from continuing my work and self-growth. I continued volunteering at a sustainable farm in Cartago for another week before I had to go. Then, when I was at a relative’s house, I would work on remote volunteer projects on a website called Zooniverse, which is a fantastic free resource that allows individuals to work on any project they’d like and as many as they’d like, for free. I have also done some reading, and one of the titles I’m reading now is ‘So You Want to Talk About Race’ by Ijeoma Olou. It’s an insightful start to my journey in being actively anti-racist, a concept I didn’t know existed until recent blind-removing and illuminating events. I now use my small platform on social media to share information on the Black Lives Matter movement and to promote BIPOC voices to the best of my abilities. Additionally, I have built a steady exercise routine that simultaneously helps me release stress, energizes me, and fortifies my corporal and mental health.

‘Water can flow, or it can crash.’ So, be adaptable and open-minded; release yourself of worries and burdens you simply have no control over; this will give you more time experiencing versus worrying. ‘Be[ing] water,’ means adapting to your situations and doing the best you can in the present moment to advance — like a river.

I invite you to dive into this state.

--

--