Steve Lowmiller
FSU Gap Year Fellows
2 min readFeb 1, 2017

--

How have you been brave?

Before my gap year started, I knew I wanted to take a mission trip to Zambia, Africa, but I was having trouble figure out when I would fit this in. The only thing I knew is that I was going to go over the summer. But then my plans changed big time when I decided to join the Air Force reserves. This was a difficult decision because I knew I would have to reschedule my trip in a very short period of time. So I was ecstatic when the family I will be staying with told me February would be a great time to for me to travel over, and they would multiple projects for us to work on during that time, which fit perfectly into my tight travel window!

How have you been kind?

After my first trip to Africa last year, I discovered how much I love to serve the needy and just simply show kindness to people who don’t see very much of it. So I cannot wait for my next trip in February to Zambia where I will have the opportunity to again show love and kindness to the street kids and spread the gospel in a place where there is so much brokenness and hurting. I also look forward to being able to assist the missionary family accomplish things around the farm, and improve their facilities. I feel that this is one of the biggest way I can show love and kindness to the missionary family.

How have you failed?

The one thing I think I have failed at during this gap year the most is a lack of planning. Yes I will accomplish everything I wanted to accomplish, but I think I could have spared myself a lot of heartache just by simply thinking even more ahead of time to ensure my plans are in line with what I wanted to accomplish over this year. I think this is a very valuable life lesson that I have learned over this year.

--

--