Steve Lowmiller
FSU Gap Year Fellows
1 min readMar 10, 2017

--

One event that made me Happy

I have had an awesome gap year so far, and have had many great experiences from interning at several medical practices, to completing the EMT program. But the one event that I was the most happy about was when I was sworn in to the Air Force. Swearing in is a very spontaneous thing. There is no high ranking officer waiting to swear you in, or even one that knows he is going to swear you in that day. Me and my recruiter in fact just walked around Duke Air Force Base until we found an officer not to busy to do it. Then there was some more hunting, this time for a flag, the enlistment must be done in front of a flag. So we finally found one that we could use and I raised my right hand and said the oath. It was not exactly what I was expecting, but I am just very proud to be a part of our great nation’s military.

--

--