Biggest Takeaway and Next Steps

Ashley Rosado
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
3 min readJul 22, 2019

It is a bittersweet feeling that my time at 500 Startups Miami is coming to an end this week. It has been 10-weeks filled with challenges, learning new things, and of course, growth. Throughout my time as both an intern and a “Miami local,” I learned that my most utilized skill this summer was not one that is taught in school or workshops, but one that is innate to all of us… curiosity.

My biggest takeaway from this experience was to approach all things in life, work-related or not, with a curious mind and heart. I am thankful that I was encouraged to ask questions this summer, because that is exactly what helped me learn as much as I did. It takes strength to know many things, but it takes even more strength and vulnerability to admit when you don’t know something and be willing to learn. The Venture Capital and tech-startup worlds were almost foreign to me upon arrival, and now 10-weeks later, I feel confident in my knowledge about these industries. I did independent research, utilized my supervisors, and took advantage of the amazing founders that operate their companies out of the 500 Startups Miami office. I took advice from them that I wouldn’t be able to learn in a textbook, and I have a better idea of what I hope the future holds for me.

A beautiful Miami sunset after a long day at one of our 500 Startups’ bootcamps!

Curiosity didn’t just help me be successful in my internship, it helped me navigate a city that was new to me — Miami. One of the best parts of the Tech Fellows fellowship is being pushed out of your comfort zone by living in a brand new city. Upon arrival, I knew I wanted to experience Miami “as a local” and really take advantage of everything the city has to offer. Thanks to newsletters like The New Tropic and the Miami Herald, I was able to read up on current events affecting the city. I utilized social media to get food recommendations, local businesses, farmers markets and more. I made an effort to experience the beaches, the culture, and even the public transportation. Finally, I utilized the FSU Alumni network in Miami to chat with professionals, potential mentors, and locals. This culmination of experiences allowed me to have a well-rounded time here and leave knowing that I took full advantage of the opportunity.

A local Puerto Rican food stand at Yellow Green Farmer’s Market in Hollywood, Florida.

As for me and my next steps, I am hopeful of what the future holds for me. This fall semester, I am excited to be apart of the student leadership team for Design for America. I also hope to take what I’ve learned and apply it through my platforms as the Executive Director of the Pride Student Union and an intern on campus. I am also looking forward to finalizing my research project and being able to present it at the President’s Showcase. This experience has also given me insight to what I would like to do in the future, which is to own a tech-startup and empower diverse founders.

--

--