Building Community at 500 Startups

Ashley Rosado
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2019

If you ask me, community is everything. I strive to center my communities in all of my involvement, and create a sense of community wherever I go. It is really important for me to work in an environment that cultivates community, a sense of belonging, and supports founders. It’s been great to see how 500 Startups’ Miami does that, and the greater Miami ecosystem as a whole.

At 500 Startups’ Miami, one way that they build community is through their co-working space. During the first week of my fellowship, they accepted new startups to work out of the office. When founders come, they have desk space, conference rooms, a yoga area, ping-pong table, and drinks/snacks always available. This produces an environment where founders feel welcome and validated.

Another way that they build community is by hosting events for founders. One of my favorite events that I’ve been here for was a happy hour at a local restaurant in Downtown. Founders and partners from Google were present, and it was an opportunity to socialize and network. They also allow businesses in the community to host events at the 500 Startups’ Miami location, which supports those businesses, but also gives the founders who work at the office an opportunity to network or attend workshops.

Finally, I have observed the 500 Startups staff actively involved in others’ events. For example, they will speak on panels, go to grand openings, or even just meet new founders for lunch or coffee to get to know them. This has allowed them to truly understand the ecosystem and those working to build it. In order to successfully help founders in Miami, you have to be present in the community and understand the needs first (hence why human-centered design is trending now). It’s an honor to work for a company that has done just that, and I am excited to take what I’ve learned about building community and bring it to my respective spaces on campus.

--

--