Caught off guard @ Domi

Ayanna Chukes
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
3 min readJun 6, 2019

With two weeks worth of experience working at Domi Station under my belt, I have learned to expect the unexpected. Although there were quite a few notifications about expecting future deadlines and preparations for future events, I never expected for my first ever project deadline to sneak up on me the way it did. Since the interviewing process, I already knew what would be a few of the projects I would have in store for me, and I was up to complete every task as efficiently as I could without having everything pile up on the back-burner. I knew I would have to update the community metrics, research possible data visualizations to replace their current platform, and work a few tasks that mostly involved organizing/formatting spreadsheets, web pages, and their data management platform.

It took me by surprise to find out that their records were behind so not only did I finish mapping out and reformatting the community metrics with what I thought was updated information, but I was working with the wrong month. This unforeseen issue made the problem that I worked so hard to avoid inevitably happen. I absolutely felt slightly anxious that I wouldn’t be able to have everything by the submission deadline as I tend to overreact when deadlines are involved. However, I ended up surprising myself and managed to not only finish both metrics on time, but I also found and formatted three new data visualization platforms, and was able to set up a meeting for a new database management platform.

I was also able to find out something new about myself when it comes to performing supervised versus unsupervised. Unsupervised my work is effortless, but when I am being watched I tend to overthink my actions and end up botching my delivery both verbally and physically(through many trial table tennis games and presentations) no matter how much I prepare beforehand. I finally put my foot down because I am so sick of letting my nerves control me, I have been trying to force myself to speak and start conversations that I normally would not do as well as going above and beyond in all my tasks as a beginning to becoming the confident leader I always imagined myself being.

My final surprise for the week was learning that the Big Bend Minority Chamber of Commerce took an interest in me from seeing posts on Facebook and contacted Antonio Montoya, the Director of Domi Station, about inviting me to participate in a summer camp for young entrepreneurs. In summation, this week has been an emotional rollercoaster.

--

--