Challenges at 500 Startups Miami

Ashley Rosado
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
3 min readJun 6, 2019

“To whom much is given, much will be required.” I ground myself with these words, and even have them set on my computer to see each time I get to work. It is a reminder that every journey will have its bumps, but you should learn from them and use them as motivation to propel forward.

Day 1 of our Fundraising & Negotiations for Female Founders bootcamp with guest speaker Gabriela Sabate.

A common problem, that I’ve noticed particularly in college students, is the inability to make effective, meaningful, and long-lasting relationships. One of the biggest challenges that I’ve faced since beginning my summer at 500 Startups Miami has been networking. During a typical day at the office, you can expect many people from a variety of backgrounds to pass through. We have founders of tech startups, partners from companies like Visa, venture capitalists, and more. It is a lot of pressure to want to introduce myself to everyone, learn more about them, and hopefully make a good impression. Back at Florida State, I feel comfortable with my involvement and the circles of people that I know, so I don’t get too nervous about being a “social butterfly.” But, I’ve found it hard to be confident in myself and not get intimidated by the people here, many of whom I look up to. I am working on putting myself out there more and hopefully building a network that I can reach out to as I work towards my future goals.

With immersion, comes challenges. I learned this when I studied abroad in the United Kingdom and had to adjust quickly to culture shock and the influx of new information and experiences. I’ve found myself experiencing similar feelings these past three weeks in Miami and at 500 Startups. There are specific terms, almost like another language, in the tech industry that we use to communicate effectively. This was such a challenge at first, that I created a glossary in my journal to add terms/definitions every time I hear a new one. Furthermore, adjusting to a new city, especially a cultural hub like Miami, takes time as well.

Group photo with 500 Startups team and all of the participants of our first bootcamp of the summer!

Finally, the last challenge that I have faced (and the most surprising) has been with my research project. For my research, I wanted to learn more about how Latinas in tech startups experience imposter syndrome. I was eager to begin collecting data by interviewing some women at our latest bootcamp for Female Founders. I decided to interview founders from Colombia, Brazil, and Chile since they were only in Miami for a few days. However, the interviews made me realize one major flaw in my research project: being Latina in Latin America is completely different than being Latina in the United States. Living in the United States, being Latina is something that is salient to me, especially while attending a predominantly white institution. However, if I lived on the island where my family is from, I probably wouldn’t think about it often because I’d be surrounded by similar people. So, I’m currently reevaluating my research question and project so that I can pivot and begin collecting data again. One fun fact is that I got to conduct an interview completely in Spanish!

Despite the challenges I have faced, these past few weeks have already been transformative for my growth and development, both as a student and a professional. I cannot wait to find new ways to overcome them and see what else the summer has in store for me.

--

--