Evolution…

Ayanna Chukes
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
3 min readJun 30, 2019

So far I feel like a freaking boss! The first week I struggled simply because I was a little rusty when dealing with Microsoft Excel and learning multiple KPI (Key Performance Indicator) reporting platforms. As of now it seems like they really think I’m as responsible and capable as I think I am, because now I’m in charge of demoing/researching new applications, leading meetings presenting my research and teaching others how to use the systems, and setting up their new phone system by testing and comparing a corporate-owned system to a locally established system.

Just a few weeks in and I’m already meeting a few of the goals I’ve set for myself and triumphing over the anxiety I have when speaking in front of people and not being able to figure out how to do something which becomes even more challenging with an added deadline. I still feel like I have a long ways to go before my skill level and confidence match but I can definitely see the difference from when I started til now. My communication could use some work, seeing as I take a lot of liberties with how I say something, skipping around in conversations when I’ve already grasped the gist of what was being said, or just simply being overwhelmed with so much information that I freeze up and my mind goes blank. Those reasons are usually why I’m quiet most of the time or just listening and occasionally chiming in, but I’ve been really trying to combat this issue this summer. I’ve gotten to the point where I can take in more information before I get overwhelmed, but now I have to address the issue of feeling awkward when speaking or starting a conversation and then having to deal with the conversation being cloaked in that same awkwardness that I just let the conversation fade out to put everyone out their misery. I just really want to skip to the part where my emotions aren’t controlling my life.

Getting back on track, this week my main project has been to learn a phone application called RingCentral and a locally developed one called Tresta and see which one is better. They are both systems that assign the user a main number which in this case will redirect the caller directly to everyone’s personal cellphone based on what the client may need. The goal was to make everything completely automated in a way that if someone were to leave that anyone would be able to be plugged in their place seamlessly. I not only developed multiple auto-attendants included with prompts and numerous options, but I also formatted a calling system that’s based on office hours and soon will be based on everyone's personal schedules. Next week my main project will be helping Domi switch from having a business domain (.com) to being recognized as a non-profit organization (.org). I really feel like I am learning a lot, especially since I wouldn’t be finding these things out on my own with no real goal.

--

--