Hopes for my time spent here in Melbourne, FL with Groundswell

Kevin Zhou
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2018

On May 21st, I will be starting my first day of work at Groundswell Startups here in Melbourne, Florida. But before I begin sharing my experiences as an intern and tech fellow, I would like to highlight some goals for this internship as well as my hopes for what I can take from my experiences working here.

Goals for this summer:

  • Build meaningful relationships with the Groundswell employees
  • Get to know each and every startup that will be working with Groundswell by building meaningful relationships and not just “make connections”.
  • Create answers to my research proposal’s questions by drawing the relationship between what Groundswell (as an incubator) contributes to vertical integration
  • Create answers to my research proposal’s questions by interviewing startup companies and quantifying their successes before and after working at Groundswell.
  • Get to understand the “Mentoring” process and service that Groundswell offers and what exactly does that entail.
  • Get a well-rounded understanding of what it means to be apart of an entrepreneurial ecosystem.

What I hope to take out of this:

  • Using the experiences I’ve learned here and utilizing them after undergraduate school.
  • Using the relationships I’ve built here and create something more from those relationships (e.g. creating a startup team)
  • Skillset being larger from when I first started the internship.

These are my goals for this summer. In T-minus 1 day I will be starting my first day at Groundswell HQ. I am very excited to meet everyone in person as well as get to understand my role and how I fit in the workplace.

--

--

Kevin Zhou
FSU Tech Fellows

Entrepreneur and FSU Tech Fellow for 2018. Will be spending my summer for a duration of 10 weeks interning at Groundswell Startups. Stick around for updates!