Shania Alincy
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readJun 12, 2019

--

My first day at groundswell has been amazing and far beyond my expectations. At first i honestly did not know what to expect. I did a little research before hand to get a grasp of what it would be like but I feel as if it is way more than what it portrayed to be online. Groundswell is non-profit incubator. It is fairly new, It’s about 3 years old. The building that houses Groundswell once used to be a skating park. Groundswell startups is located in the center of Melbourne Florida. It is a place that grants entrepreneurs and freelancers the ability to work simultaneously in a common space. It provides mentorship and welcomes all with a friendly and comforting approach. That’s exactly what I felt on my first at Groundswell. I was able to connect and meet with most of the entrepreneurs there. On my first day I was also able to learn the ins and out of Groundswell. I was given a tour of the building and learned what different spaced were used for and I was also trained on how to give tours to guests interested in becoming apart of the Groundswell community. As of right now we have a staff of three with myself included, with the time to come three more interns should be joining us.

On my second day I had already began with administrative work. I was able to create content for their social media accounts such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. I was able to give a tour alongside another intern. I was excited that I was to be to contribute and put to use what I had just learned. I really enjoy the nature of the community here at groundswell, everyone is really supportive and friendly. I was able to meet a few of the many mentors there. While talking to Fumiko, the community manager there I was welcomed to voice what i wanted to gain out of this internship and she connected me with different people within groundswell that are able to help me get there and she also gave out suggestions on possible events I could attend and participate in to help me reach that goal. I appreciate how supportive the space is in aiding me in fulfilling my wants and needs in this internship.

Overall I am very excited to start with this internship and dive in head first to all the opportunities that I may come across.

--

--

Shania Alincy
FSU Tech Fellows

Shania Alincy is an undergraduate student pursuing a degree in Commercial Entrepreneurship at Florida State University. Shania aspires to be a business woman