Something that challenged me — Week 3/10

Kevin Zhou
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2018
Me, at the anniversary petting a wonderful dog.

Three weeks in! Its been three weeks since I started, and I can positively say that I have learned a lot and have comfortably grown accustomed to the work culture at Groundswell (As you may have noticed, I decided to spice things up and add a photo to the blog post, as inspired by DeMarco’s posts). This week’s topic is something that challenged me, let’s get started:

Lets recap:

My first two weeks spent at Groundswell were spent building meaningful relationships and attend events such as the Melbourne Founder’s Festival, Art of the Pitch, and Groundswell’s Anniversary Party. All of which, instilled valuable experience and lessons for me.

But as I mentioned in my last two posts, Micah, the CEO at Groundswell, gave me clear expectations for what he wanted me to accomplish over the course of my 10 week stay here: that is to find ways to integrate a better CRM (customer relationship management) platform and better automate & streamline workflows.
You may or may not understand what that means, but to put things simply: Groundswell is currently using multiple different software and web-apps to manage projects and data: this is what I was asked to fix. Overall, I am to find a way to use one program/ project management software.

But basically, what I was tasked to do over the course of this internship, is to find a way to use one program/ project management software in place of using multiple different ones.

How is this a challenge for me?

Groundswell has a lot of projects, events, and customers. So the amount of tasks needed is all over the place — and finding one software to complete all those tasks, when I have no prior knowledge and experience with coding, can be very difficult. Luckily, I am not scared of challenges and feed off difficulty. I have 8 more weeks to do my best and create something useful, valuable, and meaningful for Groundswell and I’m up for the task. Hopefully by that time, my boss will have less than 5 tabs open on his browser 😂.

HEY before you leave!

Sorry for the quick promo, but Groundswell is hosting this campaign to help local startups and entrepreneurs! Its a very cool way to give back to a community. We’re hosting a startup pitch competition and the winners of the competition win prize money for capital! When you buy our merch, 100% of the proceeds go towards that prize money. Click this link to get linked to the website, the designs are cool!

--

--

Kevin Zhou
FSU Tech Fellows

Entrepreneur and FSU Tech Fellow for 2018. Will be spending my summer for a duration of 10 weeks interning at Groundswell Startups. Stick around for updates!