Surprises at 500 Startups Miami

Ashley Rosado
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readMay 30, 2019

As a social entrepreneurship and creative writing major, venture capital was a concept that I would stray away from. I fed into stigmas and stereotypes about who venture capitalists are, what venture capital funds do, and an overall negative understanding of for-profit companies. Although I was skeptical in that regard, I was completely confident in the fact that I wanted to be at 500 Startups Miami. I believed it would be the most challenging for me, and therefore, the biggest opportunity for growth and immersion.

You can imagine my shock as I began learning more about venture capital, investment rounds, pitch decks, and more. Of course, I had done prior research before coming to the company, but it was a lot easier to process as I talked about it in person. I have been able to observe how founders of tech startups work tirelessly on themselves and their companies, and how receiving capital or any kind of investment can bring them exponential growth and success. It is empowering when they have access to the resources to put all of their ideas to fruition and see their vision through.

Furthermore, I’ve become familiar with many of the programs that 500 Startups offers, especially those that take place in Miami. It is not all about money and profit; there are bootcamps, networking opportunities, and programs that teach founders valuable skills and strategies. They care about founders as a whole, not just about a return on investment. This has made me confident in the work that I’m doing and made me feel very comfortable here.

Finally, I thought that diversity, inclusion, and social good were strictly for social entrepreneurs. However, I have been pleasantly surprised with the conversations I’ve had and the initiatives that I’ve seen. As applications were being reviewed for 500 Startups’ Miami’s Fundraising for Female Founders bootcamp, we began discussing the barriers to entry that women face in the tech startup industry. I could see how passionate everyone was about not only ensuring the success of this bootcamp, but changing the culture of this industry and creating access for underrepresented entrepreneurs. It made me realize that we need social justice everywhere and for every topic, not just in the spaces that it is usually discussed. Moving forward, I hope that I can continue bringing my identities, passions, and life experiences into this space and seeing how it all comes together.

--

--