The Unexpected..

Lavonda Dean
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readJun 1, 2019

Surprises, Surprises!

After completing this week, I am pleased to recall the pleasant and maybe not so pleasant surprises I’ve experienced so far while interning.

Environment

If you know me, then you know I am from Miami and travel home often because in my opinion, there is just no place like home. Something that has surprised me at my core are the similarities between Orlando and Miami. Since arriving, I have often thought to myself that Orlando has the closest city atmosphere to Miami — as opposed to Tallahassee’s more country, woods like surroundings. Which is something I honestly appreciate.

On a humbler note, finding parking isn’t as bad as corporate areas in both Tallahassee and Miami. However, the expense that comes with parking relatively close to work is truly disappointing. I hope to find alternative parking in the near future. In the meantime, I’ll enjoy the proximity of various restaurants and the journey of finding a new favorite in Orlando!

Expectations

Being able to come into work knowing what is expected of me with tasks and obligations clear and attainable is probably every employees dream. Having these responsibilities relate to areas of interest within my career field is a pleasantly surprising initiative. It keeps me focused and organized as I prioritize and complete assignments in order of importance.

This has also giving me the opportunity to see at a close glance what role this professions plays within an organization. Setting objectives and giving me the freedom to complete and achieve them shown through my own ingenuity is definitely the kind of work community I want to be apart of.

Excitements

I am eager to implement new ideas, events, and interactive activities into the work space. Although I can’t wait to see the results of my executions, I know there is always more to learn. Community engagement, connecting and interacting with new people are a few summer objectives that I surprising feel will be easy to obtain during my internship here in Orlando.

--

--