Tried & True

Lavonda Dean
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readJun 7, 2019

This Weeks Challenges

With the completion of the second week of my internship, I experienced some minor challenges. I consider myself to be jinxed especially in relation to car troubles. Even my family deems me as the black cat since I always seem to be the prey of many small misfortunes. Although in one situation, my own actions of rushing and rambling, rather than a bit of bad luck from the universe, could be the blame. Aside from that, socializing and establishing meaningful relationships has also been trying for me since my work ethic consist more of a work now talk later approach. Whatever the issue may be, I am always resilient in finding ways to resolve these minor difficulties.

Moments before heading into work, I managed to accidentally lock my keys inside of the car. A seemingly small fret I know, nothing too serious to worry about. However for me, this was a bit devastating because as I mentioned, it is only my second week and definitely didn’t want to make any bad impressions. Particularly one that said I’m a mess when moving too quickly or that my punctuation was less than exemplary. I am grateful for being overseen by two of the absolute best supervisor here at StarterStudio. Andi and Casey were very understanding and also aided in resolving the solution by informing me of company options to assist. Having managers that care about your well being as much as your contribution to the company is very warming.

Another issue I seem to be experiencing is a lack in socializing. I’d like to think of myself as a very social person, but a comment made on how quiet I am quickly brought to my attention that I may not be forming the connections I should be while here. That comment has weighed on me because I know expanding my network can be very beneficial to me in the long run. So, with this I plan on engaging more in conversations, attending happy hours, and exploring the city to become more social.

On another note, this week has definitely been filled with tasks, objectives, and assignments that not only benefit the company, but are also tailored to envisioning and improving all that we want and hope to accomplish as individuals. What more could an intern ask for!?

--

--