Week 1: First Impression of the Wave

Ashley Taylor
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readMay 24, 2019

I must say my first week at the Wave has been more than amazing. Each individual, from the staff to the startups, made me feel welcomed as soon as I stepped off of the elevator and has continued to show enormous support with the goals I have set, personally and professionally, while I am in Tampa.

As the marketing intern for the Wave, I assist with the creation of social media content and calendar planning, creation of monthly community newsletters, maintenance of their website, and event coverage for blog creations. In my time here, I have had the privilege of meeting all of the wonderful staff that works together every day to make sure Tampa Bay Wave is successful as a part of my on-boarding. I have also learned more about their accelerator programs, specifically the Tech Diversity Program, which is a program partnered with Nielsen Foundation for early-stage tech companies that are owned and operated by a minority; woman; veteran or lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender person or a combination.

Some of my goals during this internship are to develop my coding skillset and applying my passion for graphic design to assist with the creation and production of marking collateral. In the next few weeks, I will be working with more of the tools Tampa Bay Wave has available and learning hands-on how it is used for their daily operations.

Overall, I am very appreciative of how welcoming and open to suggestions the staff has been, especially in terms of my research analyzing women leadership. I am thrilled to move forward and to see how I develop throughout this internship.

--

--