Week 3: Challenges

Ashley Taylor
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readJun 7, 2019

Week 3 has been a bit of a change for me. I have struggled when it comes to where to fit myself into what is already an established and well-functioning team. The amount of ideas the TB Wave are able to initiate and bounce off of each other is kind of amazing to listen to each week. I do admire each staff member as they have taking their position and gone above and beyond with it. From the testimonies and just observation you can their audience truly enjoys the office environments, events, and more. I want to not just make my presence known, but be able to contribute useful, meaningful ideas as well. In order for me to get to this point, it does require on my end to continue putting in effort to understand Tampa’s community. So that way I am understanding and getting a grasp for everyone focus in their respected positions and get me into the mindset of creating content that TB Wave targeted audience would prefer to see and hear.

I previously talked about how TB Wave has a variety of resources at their hands that help them operate from day to day. With such a large number of resources, in my short time and the time consumption my research will begin to take up, I have to narrow down which programs will be beneficial to my future.

In terms of my research, the start of the new project has been rough. I have battled with topic of my research for the last two weeks. Although I have the central idea of speaking with women entrepreneurs and business leaders about leadership styles and their journeys to their position, each question I have looks at that through different lens. My overall goal is to be able to collect data that will be helpful to me in my future plans, but also for any individual that may be in my position future, whether they are in the process of pursuing entrepreneurship themselves or are considering it.

My few challenges this week have not set me back but have only motivated me to continue to move forward. I plan to reevaluate and adjust so that way I am making sure that each day I come in my contribution is beneficial to both the organization and me. This week couldn’t have happened a better time I believe. Next week’s networking events are valuable for me establishing connections in Tampa. I am looking forward to seeing what I can get accomplished and how I will continue to develop.

--

--