WEEK 4: GROWING

Mia Mercado
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readJul 9, 2018

Its been a full month working with 500 Startups and I’ve learned so much already. Between our bootcamps, events, calls, and office logistics, its been an amazing month. I think there have been many ways in which I have grown during this past month, mostly personal.

I lucked out and was able to find an apartment only 3 or 4 blocks from my office so I have had the luxury of walking to and from work everyday. Because of this, my personal routine has been so different than it usually is during semesters. We start our day at 9am and usually end around 7pm (no actual set time). The hours are not the typical 8am–5pm hours that most people are used to and this has also contributed to my personal growth.

Personally, the consistency of having a set routine makes the longer hours and later evenings a lot more bearable. I have learned to do things on my own or without the company of my roommate or friends just because I am on such a different schedule than they are. At the beginning, it was difficult for me because I was in a new city, however, I know the hours will pay off and I have grown to accept this aspect of my current situation.

I have been working on myself lately, learning what I like and don’t like of the “adult world” and taking this into consideration for my future. I really do see the benefit of having an internship during college. It has been a huge eye opener of how I want to live my professional life post-graduation. Without this internship, I know I would still be confused or in the dark about what I truly want to do for the rest of my life.

--

--

Mia Mercado
FSU Tech Fellows

Current third year Florida State University student studying Information, Communication, and Technology. Intern with 500 Startups in Miami, Fl.