Week 4: Growth

Ashley Taylor
FSU Tech Fellows
Published in
2 min readJun 15, 2019
This week I spent my time behind the camera for our events, but luckily our Marketing Manager was able to catch a boomerang of me socializing.

“Networking is a fundamental part of life. It is not always about what you know, but sometimes who you know.” After expressing to my mentor about my challenges from last week with, he created to say this to me. Going into my internship, I knew the goals I needed to accomplish in these 10 weeks and socializing was a part of getting them done but I never thought of it as an easy process. I tend to have my reserved moments, especially when I am hard at work. I get so focused in deadlines that I miss opportunities to build relationships. My goal was to break that pattern. My growth was shown in the 4 events TB Wave held this week. It was my mission to make the best of these even, especially since some specifically geared towards female entrepreneurs who could possible be great for my research. I spent my entire week bonding with our staff and interns, and private perfecting my elevator speech in preparation. I left this week feeling accomplish and empowered by the conversations. As nervous as I was, I am proud that continue to push through and form relationships. I don’t see this as a one-time thing. With both Tech Fellows and the Wave, there are chances to meet people at any moment and I want to make this something that I could excel in for future.

--

--