Writing from an Expense-Free Bunker

Monday Money Check-in: Oct. 9, 2017

Paulette Perhach
Fuck Off Funding
3 min readOct 9, 2017

--

My sister needed me to help with my nephew for a week while she went to a conference, so I’m sitting in her house with no car, nothing within walking distance, no friends, no shows. Like a safe house for my spending. Just working all week.

Which is perfect, because I have, officially, don’t even have enough money to buy a frappuccino in my account. I wonder why I feel a certain sense of comfort when I have zero dollars. What is that?

I got a nice $1,150 paycheck on Tuesday. By the end of the day, it was gone, all but about $35 of it. I paid my rent, my medication, my Adobe subscription, my storage unit. The end.

How did I feel? It feels great to pay your bills, like you’re not in trouble anymore.

Slinking Around All Broke

All week I was slinking around, taking a business contact out to coffee with $14 in my bank account, getting on a plane with $3 in my bank account, with that please please please please work prayer in my heart.

My book is due today, so I can really get back on working for some hourly wages man. Have you heard that writers are broke? It’s so true. From people not paying you on time to editors commissioning an essay then sitting on it for months, which I’m dealing with for two essays that each took me about 40 hours to make, it’s so insane.

One thing that really makes me happy is how content I am in my tiny place. It’s nice to know that I can make it work in a little studio. It’s a sustainable life choice for me.

Social vs. Actual Capital

Last week I got to interview Sallie Krawcheck, who once got a $6 million dollar severance package. I spoke to her with $18 in my bank account. She was a big supporter of the Fuck Off Fund, and one of the most surreal moments of my life was meeting her earlier this year. She said, you’re the Fuck You girl! (I did not correct her, Fuck *Off* Girl.) “Tom, Tom!” she said to her co-worker, “This is the Fuck You girl!”

I spun dizzily in the chasm between a writer’s social capital and her actual, grocery-buying, rent-paying capital.

When we spoke this week, about Fuck Off Funds and being your own CEO, she was just as nice as I remembered. I kind of love her.

Personal Checking Balance: $0

Business Checking Balance: $3

Fuck Off Fund Level: $2,044 (More like a Please Reconsider Your Actions Fund)

Weekly wins: Up to date on bills as of right now

Saving your own Fuck Off Fund? Join us on Facebook to get support.

--

--

Paulette Perhach
Fuck Off Funding

Paulette Perhach has been published at The New York Times, Elle, Marie Claire, and Cosmo.