Creative Work for Social Justice

Why I Care About Social Justice

Jeannie Leary
Creative Leverage
2 min readSep 7, 2016

--

Jeannie cares about social justice.

Who I Am

I’m an Advertising & Graphic Design student at Columbus College of Art & Design (CCAD). I’ve always wanted to do something creative with my career, but I didn’t get into design until I started at CCAD. Before, I enjoyed making statements through drawings and paintings. The thought and concept behind the art was what drove me to do what I’m doing now. The content is what has become so important to me.

Being creatives, we are constantly communicating messages through our work.

Being creatives, we are constantly communicating messages through our work. We have a short time to make an impression with creative work because people tend to glance over it. For the few seconds I have someone’s attention, I want to get them thinking. I want to get them questioning what goes on in our society and how we can make things better.

Why I Care

I love people. I think we’re pretty damn cool — but we’re complicated. Conflict and hate divide us, but any little change we make toward attaining peace, love and hope brings us closer together. If I can make any impact on this world and the people in it, I would like for it to be in an effort to gaining that unity. I’m up for anything that brings awareness to, works with, or supports social justice.

Jeannie Leary is a design intern at Fulcrum Creatives and part of the summer FORCE team. She likes roller skating around the city, but only at night so no one will see if she face plants into the asphalt.

What do you care about? Request a care card to let us know on wdwtwwy.com.

Let’s build a community of care, together.

…if you don’t care.

Fulcrum Creatives is a Certified B Corporation (B Corp) creative studio in Columbus, Ohio, focused on creating, elevating and sustaining brands that care.

--

--