Save in 5: It’s Electric

Focusing on Electricity Conservation

Faith Gutzman
Creative Leverage
5 min readApr 25, 2016

--

Photography for this Save in 5 taken by Zach Wilke

Welcome to my Save in 5 series, where I try to become more eco-conscious by following five rules for at least five days.

This past week, I monitored and lowered my energy consumption.

The average Ohioan uses 154,400,000 BTU in a year, which is about the same amount of energy in 171,474 sticks of dynamite or 15,970 pounds of coal. [X] I want to try to lower my contributions to those statistics by being more mindful about my energy usage. I am notorious for forgetting to turn off lights and keeping my stuff constantly charging. By monitoring my usage and following five ways to reduce my electricity consumption will definitely help me on my quest of reducing my carbon footprint on a more regular basis.

So, without further ado, my rules for the week! This week I took a more simple approach by making simple, practical changes.

5 Rules for Lowering Energy Consumption

  1. Restrict my time on social media and productivity while using technology.
  2. Keep lights off longer and rely more on using natural light.
  3. Pull vampire plugs; electric appliances that are turned off but keep pulling electricity.
  4. Use appliances sparingly.
  5. No elevators.

Day 1
This was the first day since my Fulcrum interview that I’ve used the stairs. They are daunting with no turns or pivots, just a straight shot up to the fourth floor. But I conquered them all and saved the elevator a trip.

Technically, I don’t know how much energy I am saving by taking the stairs. [X] But since I am usually the only one on the elevator, it’s safe to assume I’m conserving energy by not taking my ten (at least) elevator rides a week. Doing this not only saves energy, but also gives me a little bit more extra exercise that I need.

Today, my technology usage was nine hours.

Day 2
Unplugging all of the vampire plugs in my room made me realize how many things I have plugged in all the time, even when not in use. Lamps, hair dryer and scanners are all items that I don’t need to plug in until I use them. So I’ve unplugged everything possible and I’m only using outlets as needed.

One of the worst vampires in most homes is the television. Because it has always-on functionality, it’s constantly sucking energy so that it can start up faster. Simply unplugging it will make a big difference.

Today, my technology usage hour count was nine hours.

Cincinnati, OH (Zach Wilke)

Day 3
Cutting down on my social media usage has definitely helped me lower my tech hours. Limiting my time and focusing more on sketching and brainstorming on paper has helped me concentrate on the job at hand and has helped me increase the intensity of my productivity when working on my computer.

Being a graphic designer and a college student, my technology usage is nonstop. On Friday I am going to attempt to go completely computer-free and see how much preliminary work I can still complete.

Today, my technology usage hour count was five hours.

Day 4
I’m slowly realizing that electricity conservation and limiting waste actually seem to be butting heads.

I could either use a sketchbook or my computer to draw, but one kills trees while adding to the rubbish pile; the other wastes electricity along with other resources. Either way, I feel like there isn’t a way to completely eliminate your carbon footprint unless you close yourself out from society and live off the grid.

Today, my technology usage hour count was five hour.

Cincinnati, OH (Zach Wilke)

Day 5
It started with a pact a friend and I had when going down to Cincinnati.

We are Columbus College of Art & Design students in the Advertising and Graphic Design program, which means we are both constantly tethered to our computers. When we realized we had an extended weekend coming up and the chance to explore a new town, we decided to ban computers for the day and enjoy our surroundings.

We needed a break from work. Instead of recording our adventure on Facebook, we were running around the city; taking photos and enjoying where the day took us. The colorful murals and sites and sounds provided more creative inspiration than scrolling through the same recycled Pinterest feed. It sounds so cliche, but it’s true; inspiration and connections are better founded and developed in person.

I really don’t want this to come off like computers are the root of all evil, because I love mine. But I think it’s smart to monitor what you are using it for. Can you be doing this a different way? Are you using the computer productively? I’ve been asking myself these questions all week.

Today, my technology usage hour count was 30 minutes.

Takeaways

By limiting my usage throughout the week, I became more conscious of my actions and the energy that the average person absorbs. Plus, I know I can push my energy conservation further in the future with solar panels, rechargeable batteries and LED bulbs.

People tend to think they need to take an all-or-nothing approach to these lifestyle changes — they don’t. Collectively, if everyone were to keep your lights off, unplug vampires appliances, or take the stairs would help reduce energy consumption in a big way.

Thanks for reading this second post in our Save in 5 series! Next week, I’ll be focusing on eating to better the environment.

Faith Gutzman is a creative intern at Fulcrum Creatives and part of the spring 2016 FORCE team. When she’s not in the office, Faith is part of the Columbus College of Art & Design campus working on her senior thesis or going on mini-adventures around town.

Since 2002, Fulcrum Creatives has worked with nonprofits, social enterprises, benefit corporations and organizations — whose bottom lines are focused on impact, sustainability and solving for the greater good. Branding, digital presence and strategy, marketing, SEO, social media and copywriting are just a few of Fulcrum’s core offerings. Fulcrum Creatives earned its Certified B Corporation (B Corp) certification in October 2014, making it the first B Corp branding, design and creative services agency in Ohio; the third B Corp in Central Ohio; and the eighth B Corp in Ohio.

--

--