52 Week Photography Project: July Edition

Michael Agrios
Full Frame
Published in
3 min readAug 11, 2023

Here’s My Contribution

Abandoned

Photography By Author

A storefront long ago abandoned in a rural village on the Pacific coast of Mexico stands as a silent witness to the past. The wire mesh stands as a half-hardy wire fence filling the void where a door and perhaps some windows once made the space secure.

Time and the environment have etched their marks on the scene.

The crumbling concrete and weathered brickwork describe a distressing story of timeless neglect. The faded paint clings wilfully to the uneven surfaces. I had to wonder about the lives that were once entwined with these four walls. What goods were traded, and what laughter would be heard in the now silent space?

From My Kitchen

Photography By Author

Not from my kitchen but….During our time in Essaouira, a small fishing village on the Atlantic coast of Morocco, we enrolled in a cooking class that turned out to be a truly enlightening and hands-on experience. From selecting fresh ingredients at the local markets to learning techniques for blending spices, the class was both educational and deeply satisfying.

The final dish, a Tajine is basically a one-pot casserole, a fusion of tender meats, from succulent chicken, flavourful lamb, or beef combined with vegetables and slow-cooked in a clay pot with a symphony of aromatic spices. We have since made this dish several times for family and friends.

Street Photography

Photography By Author

My friend Johnny and I set out on a photography day trip to explore a couple of small villages in the Algarve region of Portugal. During our journey, we discussed ‘street photography’. That genre of photography that seizes human motion and emotion and freezes it in time, capturing candid moments of people going about their daily lives.

I have always been drawn to landscapes and architecture, where the subjects were static, and don’t care that I was there. The idea of capturing people in candid moments feels like a challenge that extends beyond technical skills and reaches into the realm of social boundaries and other ethical considerations.

It just makes me uncomfortable.

This image was taken while Johnny was out of the car, and I was parked on the side of the street. I saw this elderly lady in my rear-view mirror as she was approaching on the opposite side of the street.

I felt protected in my vehicle.

Not wanting to give away my intentions, I held off grabbing my camera until the moment she came even with the car. I then swung my camera into position and shot a burst of 5 images. Her head swiveled to the sound of the shutter. This frame captures her expression, one of spurn and derision. I was done.

Frame Within A Frame

Photography By Author

Layers of Frames

--

--