52 Weeks Photography Project

The March Edition

Michael Agrios
Full Frame
4 min readApr 1, 2023

--

My interpretation of the 5 concepts.

1. Window

Photo by author

From my window seat inside Don Pedro’s, the beach suddenly became deserted. The breeze, or more to the point, the strong wind that had come up blew anything and everything, even the colours themselves off the beach.

2. Negative Space

Photo by author

I have had a lot of fun using a feature of the Adobe Capture phone app called Adobe Shape. Adobe Shape renders a scene in black and white outlines, no grey tones, while also creating a photograph of the scene. This image was taken on Oxford Street in London. I inverted the original image to make it a real negative space and composited a dot pattern in the concrete to provide texture and depth.

3. Levitation

Photo by author

And yet another app that I have used to create some interesting motion images. The app is called Slow Shutter. Like it sounds, the app can be tweaked to capture motion blur. It has a menu of options and functions that can be adjusted for various shutter opening times, and timing, , and includes a self timer, which was used to capture this image.

The length and perspective of the boardwalk helped set up this ‘selfie’. My iPhone was set up on a small table top tripod on the boardwalk to capture the perspective. . The timing was set to give me sufficient time to run down the boardwalk turn and then start a slow walk back as the shutter released for approximately 8 seconds. I am starting to float in the air. Levitation.

4. A Song Title

Photo by author

Midsummer Night Blues. From Austrian producer Waldeck, and Vocals by Patrizia Ferrara. Their music, for the most part, is noir, moody and downtempo.

There were some vestige of evening colours still hanging on at sunset.

5. Pure Luck

Photo by author

This image, taken this year, only exists due to a number of events coming together at precisely the right time. Pure Luck. I could not have consciously assembled all the requisite components/timing to make this happen.

I remember that prior to leaving for Portugal this year, there were several points of interest that I knew I had to re-visit. The Galleria de Arte in Logoa, The cliff walk between Praia de Luz and Praia de Mos, the panoramic views along the cliffs in the Parque Naturado Sudoeste Alentejano, and the abandoned Convent in Lagos. In its decay it had remarkable colours and textures. I had photographed it several years ago. I had a feeling that the Convent may have been reduced to ruble to make way for more tourist accommodation.

When we drove into Lagos from Luz, I was pleasantly surprised to see it still standing, and I knew I would be back to re-photograph it. I noticed that little had changed, although there is a wire fence erected around the property possibly to keep squatters out. As well, the old vines had crept up the walls enveloping the entire structure. It appeared as if someone had taken a sharpie and scribbled over the painted surfaces. Interesting, I thought.

Unless I am going on a ‘photo shoot’, usually with one of my ‘photographer friends’ I rarely take my ‘photography gear.’ Too heavy. On one overcast day, we were going into Lagos from Luz and I decided to take my ‘gear’ anyway. I knew I had time to kill. As we rounded the corner into town the sun just exploded on the urban landscape, there were shadows and highlights everywhere. We drove past the Convent, it was awash in light. It was a satisfying shoot. Lucky me.

--

--