52 Weeks Photography Project

March 2024

John keeler
Full Frame
5 min readMar 13, 2024

--

a breaking wave
photo by author

No.-10 Read Within the lines

man talking on a phone in shadows
Photo by author

We met Rodrigo in 1979 or maybe late ’78. It all seems such a blur. Time seems so fast when you’re with an inspired and giving friend.

We were employed in a remarkably modern, and bright, school library deep in the forests of North Vancouver Island.

Some people have natures that are just so open that thoughts and feelings flow freely.
It’s amazing how you can find things; wondrous things, inside the minds of creative people.
People who create art must be free. People who work with children must be empathetic.

Rodrigo used these insights with the challenged youngsters from troubled classrooms. He had a room off the library and I would often walk by and hear the most delightful conversations. He engaged with his students and built lasting relationships. I witnessed, in his students, a positive shift in their attitudes, daily.

man on a desk teaching a student
Photo by author

I doubt that there is a student today who doesn’t fondly remember their time in his classroom.

Watching how he interacted with children, reveals his level of humility and kindness. I looked carefully, and found for myself, a little more of each.

A part of being a creative is that he just can’t stop. Creativity is like that. It can come in spurts and flashes for some, but everything Rodrigo does is with creativity.

( side note here, he’s ESL so he says “fuck” with alarming frequency.)

If I had to find a friend, for some foundational well-being, and/or for inspired thought, Rodrigo is the man.

Look and read within these lines and find our solid friend.

No.-11 Out of Place

Australian students in a line and one out of place
photo by author

As I mentioned before, Bea our daughter, and I spent a year teaching and working in Australia back in 1990.

Those Australian children taught me so much. Their view of the world is so refreshingly different, that I immediately began to feel a shift in my own perspective.

They taught me to have fun dancing in a big circle. Changing partners here and there and shuffling along at an agreed upon step up, step down, step forward, and back, repeat, and change. Almost the whole school joined in a single lovely dance.

I fumbled at first, laughed, and got better in time.
The dance started at 7 and, with a break for tea and baking at 9, we found ourselves exhausted and full of the joy of community by 10.

The Out Of Place youngster above also taught me.
He taught me so much more about patience and calm.
We learned to share, and that sometimes listening can be fascinating, as well as the mundane.
We learned that fun and laughter can coexist with academia.
We learned that social norms require less spitting on others and that there is a time and place for team sports.
And we learned that “no hat equals no yard playtime”… although we both stumbled with this one.
And although he was constantly “out of place” I found an energetic and creative soul.

No.-12 The Mystery Zone

man sitting in front of a small building
Photo by author

I don’t believe there is a place dedicated to mystery. I read Spoon’s lyrics several times and found a probable thread to the unknown.

I know how it feels to expose yourself to the unknown. Throw off the shackles of the familiar and look at life beyond who you are. Examine, and then adjust precognition, adjust preconception, and re-establish your nature. Find new trails, and most of all, open your heart.

Finding The Mystery Zone isn’t a trip across the country, or starting over in Paris. Of course, it can be, but the unknown I found was more on the inside. The mystery of new thoughts and experiences….maybe?

I also found a door, and window wall, parts of Spoon’s cover art, PS filters, and night photography.

Wow, who would have thunk it? It’s all a mystery.

No,-13 Movie Title

Firefox image adapted by author

In the early eighties, we bought a ’72 Volkswagen from a friend, who will remain nameless. He had recently had it painted and she looked so very, very, pretty. However, I spent much more time around and under the car than I was ever in it. Very, very pretty? …never again!

We were just starting in life and had very little money. I changed the front suspension of the car, both sides, and then had to replace the engine. Surprisingly the engines are removable, and used ones, very cheap in those days.

I simply gave up on the gas heater and windshield wipers.

I believe, however, that the “true” Volkswagen experience has somehow permeated my heart and left me hopelessly involved with the “peoples’ car”. I’ve been photographing their little bug shapes everywhere we go.

Mexico is the best place for old VW’s but they are found also, occasionally, in Europe. (I haven’t been to Germany)

Here is the GOOD, the BAD, and the UGLY. (not necessarily in that order).

Photo by author
photo by author
photos by author

--

--

John keeler
Full Frame

Avid in life, very curious about photography, want to try painting, poetry yes, fixing old wooden boats absolutely, proximity to lakes and oceans as we can.