A Break From Everything Called Photography

Photography detox = better creativity

Shital Morjaria
Full Frame
4 min readJun 8, 2024

--

©Shital Morjaria

Have you done a photography detox lately? I think it’s important for everyone to go into a detox mode and desist from taking images. How can the detox help you? It can rejuvenate your creativity. It can in fact enhance it. What do I mean by a photography detox? I mean this: take a week off from photography. Do not click photos, do not see any photo books, do not look at your camera and do not look at any photography related videos.

©Shital Morjaria

Why am I propagating a photography detox? Because somewhere during our photography journeys we become “clickers” rather than photographers. With mobile cameras always at hand, taking photos has become so easy and also so messy. We end up with a lot of photography clutter. Our archive becomes so huge that we do not even have the time to sift through the photographs and instead we keep adding to the collection every time we click. When we go to places, we start behaving like tourists rather than photographers. Tourists just go from place to place clicking plenty of photographs to say, been there and done that. And then flag that achievement on every social media platform possible.

Coming back to the detox, as I was saying, how about forgetting photography for a week? Why not consider reading an interesting book/going to a music concert/learning music/jamming with friends/going to museum/ checking out paintings/why not sketch, doodle or draw/see some great classic movies/ watch a video about writing or sculpting or design. Anything but photography.

© Shital Morjaria

In my opinion all the above feed into our creativity. Paintings can teach us about composition and light. Reading can make us understand why storytelling in a photograph is important. Rhythm in music can inspire us to work around a rhythmic flow of sequencing in our photography. Films or shows like Ripley (on Netflix recently) can make us think out of the box with framing, symmetry and angles. All the other arts also feed our photography in some way or the other. They can inspire us to go beyond repetitive images and compel us to think and see in newer ways.

©Shital Morjaria

After a week of detox when we get back to photography, I am sure it will feel different. I think one will have renewed zeal and newer eyes to see images around us. I recently came across the concept of mindful photography. This kind of photography takes away the clicker in us. A mindful photographer is someone who is in the present, aware of the surroundings. He/ she enjoys the moment by savouring the magic around it. Not taking the image as a reflex but taking it with full awareness.

©Shital Morjaria

Photography for me is a fulfilling process of seeking and creating. It helps me make sense of my life and the world around me. It also makes me feel alive and gives me the feeling of being a part of this world. There are many times when I don’t try to make a photograph but instead I let it happen, my intuition indicates the right moment to realise the shutter. I try hard not to miss out on the magic of the moment. When I let the magic of the moment soak me in, it lingers on. When I sit down to see the image again even after a few months I can feel the emotion in it. That’s because the magic has remained intact. To keep this magic constant, one is willing to do anything and if a break or a photography detox helps … so be it!

©Shital Morjaria

Thanks for reading this post! I have created some mixed media images this time and have had a great time experimenting with my photographs. If you like my work connect with me on Instagram. I am a full time media professional and a photographer based in India. Also do follow Full Frame for some great photography related posts.

--

--