AI, Aiyiyi, Why Are So Many Photographers Playing Let’s Pretend?

I get it; AI makes cool imagery. But why the incredible defensive posture when discussing what it is?

Don Giannatti
Full Frame

--

Photo by Don Giannatti

A recent discussion on a fairly famous photographer’s feed made me shake my head and wonder why so many AI “photographers” are trying to blow smoke. gaslight, and otherwise obfuscate what it is they do?

Like many things these days, there is very little rational discussion. None at all in some circles.

So let me clarify my stance so you know where I am coming from in my points below.

I do not fear or hate AI. I use AI.

I use it in Photoshop to choose a subject, create a mask, or smooth out a background.

I use it in other programs to smooth grain, up-res a file, or create a color palette.

I use GPT to outline blog posts, research topics, make lists, and suggest marketing ideas that are often terrific.

I get suggestions for headlines, create customer personas, and find out how many small businesses are located in a zip code or county.

But I don’t use it to make art.

I will generate stuff all day on Adobe Express, Canva, and Descript. I am happy as a clam to use AI to create a sitemap, wireframe, and first-pass website. Meh.

It’s a tool, baby.

I look at AI and wonder why they call it photography, and I have some thoughts about it I will share below.

I wonder because there is not one single solitary commonality between the two.

AI output has far more in common with digital illustration, digital collage, and even digital abstract constructionism, whatever the hell that is.

So why the push to make it “photography”?

The output looks like photography.

Well, here’s the thing, Bubba, LOOKING like something doesn’t MAKE it that thing.

Ever seen a Baby Ruth candy bar floating in a swimming pool? What’s that look like?

A magician doesn’t actually eat a deck of cards and have them materialize across the theater.

Lip-syncing ain’t singing, ya know.

Yes, they look eerily like they are real, but they are not related.

Here are the latest arguments I have been given:

  1. “We already use AI in our cameras to determine exposure so what is the difference?”
    Well, that doesn’t even hold an ounce of equivalency even if we did “use AI” to determine exposure… if we even do that. Do we do that? Using the tool to help achieve a better result from our tools is far different than letting the tool do it all itself. Ya know.
  2. “You use AI in your digital output, so isn’t that the same thing as letting AI create the whole thing?”
    No, no it isn’t. Not even close.
  3. “It’s just a new photographic tool and you are too much of a Luddite to see how things are changing.”
    Yeah, no. See the graph above. It is NOT a new photographic tool, it is outside the realm of photography by a mile. Is it a new tool? Sure, but not photographic.
  4. “Yeah, I get that some of the AI companies ripped off a lot of amateur and professional artists, but, like, isn’t that, like, what we do when we see, like, other photographer’s work and, like, get influenced and stuff.”
    … Yeah, what do you say to someone like who says something like that. NO, it definitely is not the same thing, and you have obviously never done anything even remotely like what you are discussing, or you would know it is a nearly brain-dead response. And, hey, weren’t you the same dude who was bellowing on about copyright a few years ago? Good times, good times.
  5. “What’s the difference between using AI and someone’s stock photograph? You didn’t make that either.”


    Yeah, I got nothin’ for that. I cannot argue with people who know so little. It is unproductive for me and stress-inducing for them.
  6. “It’s still the idea of the prompter, so it is their work, they created it and you should shut up about them taking credit for it”
    Art Directors used to send me layouts, it was still my photo.
    An editor moves words around during an edit, the book is still the author’s.
    A magazine gives a photographer an idea, “Photograph all the food trucks in Minneapolis”, but the images belong to the photographer.
    GEEEZZZ, dude, do you even know how this stuff works?

See, here is what I think is going on.

This new technology needs a base, a user base of devotees.

Like the built-in user base of photographers.

Not nearly enough people identify as illustrators to move the needle. And the digital output train left the tracks with Gary Vs massive NFT debacle.

But photography… yes, YESSS!

A bunch of people who are already enamored with their tech, and their goodies, and so ready to be the cool kids on the block. They need to be the cool kids on the block.

So they call it “AI Photography”.

Low-information people, check.
Talentless people, check.
People looking to be cool without practicing or working at it, check.
People who must stay up with every latest tech-photo-thingy, check.

So, yeah, I do understand the focus on adopting and bastardizing a long-established name and heritage.

I loathe it, but I understand it.

But I also know the above, so no one is pulling any wool over my eyes, or fooling me into thinking they are doing something special. They aren’t. They are just creating mountains of digital blah.

AI is wonderful at helping, but it sucks as the final artisan.

Because it is not an artisan.

For decades, we have made fun of and ridiculed the statement:

“I don’t know what I want, but I will know it when I see it”.

We said they were crass, unartistic earthworms who had no aesthetics and zero taste.

Seems that (prompting) has become a legitimate and very cool thing to do for artists and photographers all over the world.

Fine, but I remember when all the cool kids were eating Tide Pods, so understand if I refuse to join in this little train wreck.

(And yes, these are all actual statements made by people claiming to know stuff about stuff they clearly don’t know anything about, but we do give them points for attendance. I guess.)

This photo of me is by Carol Rioux, on a camera: light-painted in Calgary, BC.

Hi, I’m Don Giannatti, a photographer and mentor for up-and-coming photographers. You can find me on my website, Don Giannatti, and at my Substack site, where I also publish for creative people. All subscribers to my Substack have access to a free, long-form workshop on the business of commercial and professional photography.

Direct all hatemail to idgaf@idgaf.io

--

--

Don Giannatti
Full Frame

Designer. Photographer. Author. Entrepreneur: Loving life at 100MPH. I love designing, making photographs and writing.